Skip to main content
Situation Room

Initiated Challenge: WSH @ MIN - 19:33 Third Period

Original call stands, good goal Minnesota

NHL.com @NHL

Situation Room: WSH vs. MIN

Situation Room: Staal's equalizer stands after review

The referees review for offside on Eric Staal's goal in the 3rd period, and the call stands as the Wild entered the zone legally

  • 03:30 •

At 19:33 of the third period in the Capitals/Wild game, the Situation Room initiated a review under the terms of a Coach's Challenge to examine whether Minnesota was offside prior to Eric Staal's goal.

After reviewing all available replays and consulting with the linesman, NHL Hockey Operations staff confirmed that Jason Zucker tagged up at the blueline, nullifying the delayed off-side, before the puck touched Jared Spurgeon's stick inside the attacking zone.

View More
Situation Room

Coach's Challenge: OTT @ PHI - 14:01 of Third Period

Original call stands, good goal Philadelphia

NHL.com @NHL

Situation Room: OTT vs. PHI

Situation Room: Weal's goal confirmed after review

The Senators challenge goaltender interference on Jordan Weal's game-tying tally, but video confirms the call on the ice of a good goal

  • 02:45 •

At 14:01 of the third period in the Senators/Flyers game, Ottawa requested a Coach's Challenge to review whether Wayne Simmonds interfered with Ottawa goaltender Craig Anderson before the puck entered the net.

After reviewing all available replays and consulting with NHL Hockey Operations staff, the Referee confirmed no goaltender interference infractions occurred.

View More
Situation Room

Coach's Challenge: LAK @ EDM - 0:49 of First Period

Original call is overturned, no goal Edmonton

NHL.com @NHL

Situation Room: LA vs. EDM

Situation Room: Oilers' goal overturned after review

The Kings challenge Oscar Klefbom's goal and, after a review, the call is overturned due to goalie interference from Patrick Maroon

  • 02:14 •

At 0:49 of the first period in the Kings/Oilers game, Los Angeles requested a Coach's Challenge to review whether Patrick Maroon interfered with Los Angeles goaltender Jonathan Quick before the puck crossed the goal line

After reviewing all available replays and consulting with NHL Hockey Operations staff, the Referee determined that Maroon prevented Quick from doing his job in his crease, in accordance with Rule 78.7 which states in part: "The standard for overturning the call in the event of a 'GOAL' call on the ice is that the Referee ... determines that the goal should have been disallowed due to 'Interference on the Goalkeeper,' as described in Rules 69.1, 69.3 and 69.4."

View More
Situation Room

Video Review: OTT @ PHI - 16:05 of the First Period

Review confirmed the referee's call on the ice, no goal Ottawa

NHL.com @NHL

Situation Room: OTT vs. PHI

Situation Room: No-goal call on Senators confirmed

After a Senators goal is waived off, referees review and confirm the call, as video shows the net is displaced before the puck crosses the line

  • 02:10 •

At 16:05 of the first period in the Senators/Flyers game, video review confirmed the referee's call on the ice that the Philadelphia net was displaced before the puck crossed the goal line. According to Rule 78.5 (x) "Apparent goals shall be disallowed by the referee when the net becomes displaced accidentally. The goal frame is considered to be displaced if either or both goal pegs are no longer in their respective holes in the ice, or the net has come completely off one or both pegs, prior to or as the puck enters the net." No goal Ottawa.

View More
Situation Room

Situation Room Initiated Challenge: DET @ CAR - OT

Original call stands - good goal Red Wings

NHL.com @NHL

Situation Room: DET vs. CAR

Situation Room: Athanasiou's OT winner stands

Andreas Athanasiou's goal in overtime is looked at for goaltender interference, but review confirms none on the play and the goal stands

  • 00:52 •

At 1:59 of overtime in the Red Wings/Hurricanes game, Situation Room initiated a review under the terms of a Coach's Challenge to examine whether Andreas Athanasiou interfered with Carolina goaltender Eddie Lack prior to his goal.

After reviewing all available replays and consulting with the NHL Hockey Operations staff, the Referee confirmed no goaltender interference infractions occurred before the puck crossed the goal line.

View More
Situation Room

Video Review: FLA @ BUF - 19:00 of the Second Period

Review determined player kicked the puck into the Florida net, no goal Buffalo

NHL.com @NHL

Situation Room: FLA vs. BUF

Situation Room: Girgensons' goal overturned in 2nd

Zemgus Girgensons initially scores off of his skate, but the play goes to review and the call on the ice is overturned due to a kicking motion

  • 02:57 •

At 19:00 of the second period in the Panthers/Sabres game, video review determined that Buffalo's Zemgus Girgensons kicked the puck into the Florida net. According to Rule 49.2 "A goal cannot be scored by an attacking player who uses a distinct kicking motion to propel the puck into the net.". No goal Buffalo.

View More
Situation Room

Video Review: NSH @ NYI - 3:15 of the Second Period

Review confirmed the referee's call on the ice, good goal Nashville

NHL.com @NHL

Situation Room: NSH vs. NYI

Situation Room: Arvidsson's goal stands after review

Viktor Arvidsson's goal is confirmed after video review determines he did not use a distinct kicking motion

  • 01:44 •

At 3:15 of the second period in the Predators/Islanders game, video review confirmed the referee's call on the ice that the puck entered the New York net in a legal fashion. Good goal Nashville. 

View More
Situation Room

Coach's Challenge: NSH @ NYI - 8:43 of First Period

Original call is overturned, no goal Nashville

NHL.com @NHL

Situation Room: NSH vs. NYI

Situation Room: Ellis' goal overturned after review

The Islanders challenge that Kevin Fiala was offside prior to Ryan Ellis' goal, and the call is overturned to no goal after review

  • 02:12 •

At 8:43 of the first period in the Predators/Islanders game, New York requested a Coach's Challenge to review whether Nashville's Kevin Fiala was off-side prior to Ryan Ellis' goal.

After reviewing all available replays and consulting with the linesman, NHL Hockey Operations staff determined that Fiala was off-side prior to the goal. According to Rule 78.7, "The standard for overturning the call in the event of a 'GOAL' call on the ice is that the Toronto Video Room, after reviewing any and all available replays and consulting with the Linesman, determines that one or more Players on the attacking team preceded the puck into the attacking zone prior to the goal being scored and that, as a result, the play should have been stopped for an "Off-side" infraction; where this standard is met, the goal will be disallowed." 

View More
Situation Room

Video Review: NYR @ ANA - 18:00 of the First Period

Kesler's stick was at or below height of crossbar - good goal Anaheim

NHL.com @NHL

Situation Room: NYR vs. ANA

Situation Room: Kesler's goal confirmed after review

Ryan Kesler tips a high shot past Henrik Lundqvist and the call on the ice stands after review as his stick was below the crossbar

  • 02:13 •

At 18:00 of the first period in the Rangers/Ducks game, video review confirmed that Ryan Kesler's stick was at or below the height of the crossbar when he deflected the puck into the New York net. According to Rule 38.4 (vi) "The determining factor is where the puck makes contact with the stick in relation to the crossbar. If the puck makes contact with the portion of the stick that is at or below the level of the crossbar and enters the goal, this goal shall be allowed." Good goal Anaheim. 

View More
Situation Room

Coach's Challenge: PHI @ PIT - 12:49 of Second Period

Original call stands - good goal Flyers

NHL.com @NHL

Situation Room: PHI vs. PIT

Situation Room: Filppula's goal stands after review

The Penguins use a coach's challenge, alleging goaltender interference, but after video review Valtteri Filppula's goal is confirmed

  • 02:42 •

At 12:49 of the second period in the Flyers/Penguins game, Pittsburgh requested a Coach's Challenge to review whether Philadelphia's Valtteri Filppula interfered with Pittsburgh goaltender Matt Murray prior to his goal. 

After reviewing all available replays and consulting with NHL Hockey Operations staff, the Referee determined that the actions of Pittsburgh's Ian Cole caused Filppula to contact Murray before the puck crossed the goal line. The decision was made in accordance with Note 2 of Rule 78.7 (ii) which states, in part, "that the goal on the ice should have been allowed because (ii) the attacking Player was pushed, shoved or fouled by a defending Player causing the attacking Player to come into contact with the goalkeeper."

View More