Skip to main content
Situation Room

Coach's Challenge: NJD @ VAN - 15:53 of Third Period

Original call is overturned - no goal Devils

NHL.com @NHL

Situation Room: NJD vs. VAN

Situation Room: Coleman's goal overturned upon review

The Canucks challenge that the Devils were offside on their entry prior to Blake Coleman's goal, and after review the goal is overturned

  • 04:36 •

At 15:53 of the third period in the Devils/Canucks game, Vancouver requested a Coach's Challenge to review whether New Jersey was off-side prior to Kyle Palmieri's goal. 

After reviewing all available replays and consulting with the linesmen, NHL Hockey Operations staff determined that New Jersey's Taylor Hall was off-side prior to the goal. According to Rule 78.7, "The standard for overturning the call in the event of a 'GOAL' call on the ice is that the Linesman, after reviewing any and all available replays and consulting with the Toronto Video Room, determines that one or more Players on the attacking team preceded the puck into the attacking zone prior to the goal being scored and that, as a result, the play should have been stopped for an "Off-side" infraction; where this standard is met, the goal will be disallowed."

View More
Situation Room

Video Review: NJD @ VAN - 6:31 of the Second Period

Puck completely crossed New Jersey goal line - good goal Vancouver

NHL.com @NHL

Situation Room: NJD vs. VAN

Situation Room: Eriksson awarded goal after review

Loui Eriksson is credited with a goal following video review, as his shot completely crosses the goal line to give the Canucks a 1-0 lead

  • 00:56 •

At 6:31 of the second period in the Devils/Canucks game, the Situation Room initiated a video review to further examine a play at the New Jersey net. Video review determined that Loui Eriksson's shot completely crossed the New Jersey goal line. Good goal Vancouver.

View More
Situation Room

Coach's Challenge: STL @ SJS - 5:27 of Second Period

Original call stands, good goal St. Louis

NHL.com @NHL

Situation Room: STL vs. SJS

Situation Room: Parayko's power-play goal stands

The San Jose Sharks use a coach's challenge alleging offside, but video review confirms a legal zone entry and Colton Parayko's goal stands

  • 03:24 •

At 5:27 of the second period in the Blues/Sharks game, San Jose requested a Coach's Challenge to review whether St. Louis was off-side before the puck entered the net.

Review was not conclusive in determining whether St. Louis was off-side prior to the goal. According to Rule 78.7, "If a review is not conclusive and/or there is any doubt whatsoever as to whether the call on the ice was correct, the On-Ice Official(s) will be instructed to confirm their original call."

View More
Situation Room

Video Review: MIN @ DAL - 13:15 of the Third Period

Good goal for Minnesota

NHL.com @NHL

Situation Room: MIN vs. DAL

Situation Room: Zucker's goal stands after review

Jason Zucker's goal is reviewed after the net becomes displaced, but it is determined that the puck crosses the line legally for a good goal

  • 01:15 •

At 13:15 of the third period in the Wild/Stars game, the Situation Room initiated a review to further examine a play at the Dallas net. Video reviewed confirmed that the puck completely crossed the Dallas goal line in a legal fashion before the net became displaced. According to Rule 78.4, "The goal frame shall be considered in its proper position when at least a portion of the flexible peg(s) are still inside both the goal post and the hole in the ice". Good goal Minnesota.

View More
Situation Room

Video Review: NYR @ MTL - 14:53 of the Third Period

Original call is confirmed, good goal New York

NHL.com @NHL

Situation Room: NYR vs. MTL

Situation Room: Stepan's goal confirmed after review

The Situation Room reviews and confirms Derek Stepan's goal as it is determined his stick made contact with the puck below the crossbar

  • 01:46 •

At 14:53 of the third period in the Rangers/Canadiens game, video review confirmed the referee's call on the ice that Derek Stepan's stick was below the height of the crossbar when he deflected the puck into the Montreal net. According to Rule 38.4 (vi) "The determining factor is where the puck makes contact with the stick in relation to the crossbar. If the puck makes contact with the portion of the stick that is at or below the level of the crossbar and enters the goal, this goal shall be allowed". Good goal New York.

View More
Situation Room

Coach's Challenge: PIT @ DET - 5:09 of Third Period

Original call is overturned, no goal Pittsburgh

NHL.com @NHL

Situation Room: PIT vs. DET

Situation Room: Warsofsky's goal overturned on review

The Red Wings challenge for goaltender interference on David Warsofsky's goal, and after review, the goal is overturned

  • 01:05 •

At 5:09 of the third period in the Penguins/Red Wings game, Detroit requested a Coach's Challenge to review whether Evgeni Malkin interfered with goaltender Jared Coreau before the puck entered the net.

After reviewing all available replays and consulting with NHL Hockey Operations staff, the Referee determined that Malkin's actions caused Detroit's Justin Abdelkader to contact Coreau before the puck crossed the goal line, preventing him from doing his job in the crease. The decision was made in accordance with Rule 78.7 which states in part: "The standard for overturning the call in the event of a 'GOAL' call on the ice is that the Referee ... determines that the goal should have been disallowed due to 'Interference on the Goalkeeper,' as described in Rules 69.1, 69.3 and 69.4."

View More
Situation Room

Coach's Challenge: NYR @ MTL - 6:20 of Second Period

Original call is confirmed, good goal New York

NHL.com @NHL

Situation Room: NYR vs. MTL

Situation Room: Nash's goal confirmed after review

The Canadiens lose a goaltender interference challenge as video review confirms Rick Nash's tally as a good goal in the 2nd period

  • 04:51 •

At 6:20 of the second period in the Rangers/Canadiens game, Montreal requested a Coach's Challenge to review whether Kevin Hayes interfered with goaltender Carey Price before the puck entered the net.

After reviewing all available replays and consulting with NHL Hockey Operations staff, the Referee confirmed that the incidental contact outside the crease between Hayes and Price did not constitute a goaltender interference infraction.
 

View More
Situation Room

Video Review: ANA @ ARI - 6:10 of the First Period

good goal Anaheim

NHL.com @NHL

Situation Room: ANA vs. ARI

Situation Room: Lindholm's goal stands after review

Video review determines that Elias Lindholm's shot completely crosses the goal line after deflecting off Louis Domingue's stick for a good goal

  • 01:40 •

At 6:10 of the first period in the Ducks/Coyotes game, the Situation Room initiated a video review to further examine a play at the Arizona net. Video review determined that Hampus Lindholm's shot at 5:49 completely crossed the Arizona goal line. According to Rule 38.6 "In the event that a video replay shows a goal was scored prior to the play being stopped, the Video Goal Judge will inform the Game Timekeeper and Official Scorer of the time and the amount of playing time left to be reset on the game clock and penalty time clocks (if applicable)." Therefore the clock is reset to show 14:11 (5:49 elapsed time) and good goal Anaheim. 

View More
Situation Room

Coach's Challenge: NYR @ MTL - 4:00 of First Period

Original call is overturned, no goal Montreal

NHL.com @NHL

Situation Room: NYR vs. MTL

Situation Room: Rangers get Danault's goal overturned

The Rangers win a goaltender interference challenge as Phillip Danault's goal is overturned following review early in the 1st period

  • 02:50 •

At 4:00 of the first period in the Rangers/Canadiens game, New York requested a Coach's Challenge to review whether Andrew Shaw interfered with goaltender Antti Raanta prior to Phillip Danault's goal.

After reviewing all available replays and consulting with NHL Hockey Operations staff, the Referee determined that Shaw interfered with Raanta before the puck crossed the goal line. According to Rule 78.7, "The standard for overturning the call in the event of a 'GOAL' call on the ice is that the Referee, after reviewing any and all available replays and consulting with the Toronto Video Room, determines that the goal should have been disallowed due to 'Interference on the Goalkeeper,' as described in Rules 69.1, 69.3 and 69.4."

View More
Situation Room

Coach's Challenge: CHI @ WSH - 6:32 of Second Period

Original call is overturned, no goal Chicago

NHL.com @NHL

Situation Room: CHI vs. WSH

Situation Room: Hinostroza's goal overturned

Vinnie Hinostroza's goal is overturned after a coach's challenge, as Marian Hossa was ruled to have interfered with Braden Holtby on the play

  • 03:50 •

At 6:32 of the second period in the Blackhawks/Capitals game, Washington requested a Coach's Challenge to review whether a Chicago player interfered with Washington goaltender Braden Holtby prior to Vinnie Hinostroza's goal.

After reviewing all available replays and consulting with NHL Hockey Operations staff, the Referee determined that Chicago's Marian Hossa interfered with Holtby before the puck crossed the goal line. According to Rule 78.7, "The standard for overturning the call in the event of a 'GOAL' call on the ice is that the Referee, after reviewing any and all available replays and consulting with the Toronto Video Room, determines that the goal should have been disallowed due to 'Interference on the Goalkeeper,' as described in Rules 69.1, 69.3 and 69.4 ."

View More