Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Detroit Red Wings

Red Wings name Dylan Larkin captain

Center becomes first metro Detroit native to wear 'C' for franchise

by Kyle Kujawa @DetroitRedWings /

DETROIT -- The Detroit Red Wings today announced that center Dylan Larkin has been named the team's captain, becoming the 37th captain in franchise history and the first Michigander and native metro Detroiter. Additionally, centers Luke Glendening and Frans Nielsen will serve as alternate captains for the 2020-21 season.

Larkin, 24, has served as an alternate captain for the Red Wings since 2018-19 and assumes a captaincy that has been vacant for the last two seasons, following the end of Henrik Zetterberg's career in 2017-18 due to injury. The Waterford, Mich., native is just the second American to wear the 'C' for Detroit after Reed Larson (Minneapolis, Minn.) and is the fifth player to serve as captain under Ilitch ownership (since 1982-83). Larkin's career has been exclusively linked to the state of Michigan, playing his youth hockey in the Lakeland Hockey Association and with Belle Tire AAA Hockey, before spending two seasons with the Ann Arbor, Mich.-based U.S. National Team Development Program (2012-14), one season at the University of Michigan (2014-15) and debuting professionally with the American Hockey League's Grand Rapids Griffins during the team's postseason run in 2014-15 prior to making the Red Wings as a 19-year-old in 2015-16.

"Dylan is an extremely competitive and driven player who sets the standard for dedication and conduct for the Red Wings," said Red Wings executive vice president and general manager Steve Yzerman. "This is the right time to name our new captain and we're certain Dylan is ready to take on the responsibility. He will be an outstanding leader for us, both on and off the ice."

Video: Dylan Larkin | Detroit Red Wings Captain

Entering his sixth season with the Red Wings in 2020-21, Larkin has appeared in 389 games with the team since 2015-16, totaling 266 points (107-159-266) and 246 penalty minutes. In 2019-20, Larkin led the Red Wings in points for the third-consecutive season, becoming one of just six players in franchise history to lead the team in scoring for three-straight years (along with Ted Lindsay, Gordie Howe, Steve Yzerman, Pavel Datsyuk and Henrik Zetterberg). Additionally, he's one of just 12 players to lead Detroit in points three-or-more-times in his career. Larkin also became one of the youngest Red Wings to reach 100 career goals, becoming the sixth player in the last 40 years to reach that mark for Detroit prior to turning 24 and, at 23 years and five months, was the youngest to do so since Yzerman.

"I am extremely excited that Dylan Larkin will be our captain," said Red Wings head coach Jeff Blashill. "To be named captain of the Detroit Red Wings is an enormous honor and one that Dylan has certainly earned. Dylan has the utmost respect from his teammates because of his work ethic, passion, care for others and burning desire to win. I have watched first-hand as Dylan has grown as a leader during his time with the Red Wings and internationally at three World Championships representing Team USA. He is ready for the challenges that come with serving as captain and will be complimented by a great leadership group ready to support him."

Originally drafted by the Red Wings in the first round (15th overall) of the 2014 NHL Entry Draft, Larkin made an immediate impact after making the team in 2015-16 and was named a 2016 NHL All-Star, where he broke the league's fastest-skater record during the Skills Competition. In his lone collegiate season with the Wolverines, Larkin was named Big Ten Rookie of the Year and to the Big Ten All-Rookie Team and First All-Star Team after racking up 47 points (15-32-47) in 35 games. On the international stage, Larkin has played extensively for the United States, including each of the last five IIHF World Championships (2015-19), where he has collected two bronze medals (2015 and 2018) and a total of 34 points (10-24-34) in 45 career games. He also skated at the 2015 IIHF World Junior Championship, co-leading the tournament in goals, and previously medaled at the 2014 IIHF World Under-18 championship (gold) and 2012 Under-17 World Hockey Challenge (bronze).

History of Red Wings Captains

1926-27 - Art Duncan
1927-30 - Reg Noble (three seasons)
1930-31 - George Hay
1931-32 - Carson Cooper
1932-33 - Larry Aurie
1933-34 - Herbie Lewis
1934-35 - Ebbie Goodfellow
1935-38 - Doug Young (three seasons)
1938-41 - Ebbie Goodfellow (three seasons) 
1941-42 - Ebbie Goodfellow, Syd Howe
1942-43 - Sid Abel
1943-44 - Mud Bruneteau, Bill Hollett 
1944-45 - Bill Hollett
1945-46 - Bill Hollett, Sid Abel
1946-52 - Sid Abel (six seasons)
1952-56 - Ted Lindsay (four seasons)
1956-58 - Red Kelly (two seasons)
1958-62 - Gordie Howe (four seasons)
1962-73 - Alex Delvecchio (11 seasons)
1973-74 - Alex Delvecchio, Nick Libett, Red Berenson, Gary Bergman, Ted Harris, Mickey Redmond, Larry Johnston
1974-75 - Marcel Dionne
1975-76 - Danny Grant, Terry Harper
1976-77 - Danny Grant, Dennis Polonich
1977-78 - Dan Maloney, Dennis Hextall
1978-79 - Dennis Hextall, Nick Libett, Paul Woods
1979-80 - Dale McCourt
1980-81 - Errol Thompson, Reed Larson
1981-82 - Reed Larson
1982-86 - Danny Gare (four seasons)
1986-06 - Steve Yzerman (19 seasons)
2006-12 - Nicklas Lidstrom (six seasons)
2012-18 - Henrik Zetterberg (six seasons)
2020-pres. - Dylan Larkin

Dylan Larkin, Center
Born Jul 30 1996 -- Waterford, MI
Height 6.01 -- Weight 198 -- Shoots L
Selected by Detroit Red Wings round 1 #15 overall 2014 NHL Entry Draft

View More