Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Pittsburgh Penguins

NWHL Returning to Pittsburgh in January

NWHL and two-time defending Stanley Cup champion Penguins to co-host clinic and regular season game as part of the Penguins' "NHL Girls Youth Cup" Tournament

by NWHL @NWHL / Media Release

BROOKLYN, NY, June 23, 2017 - The National Women's Hockey League and the Pittsburgh Penguins today announced a collaboration to present an NWHL regular season game and hockey clinic on Jan. 14, 2018.

The NWHL events will be part of the "NHL Girls Youth Cup," a large-scale tournament hosted by the Penguins. Both will be at the UPMC Lemieux Sports Complex, the state-of-the-art practice facility of the Penguins in Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania.

For the NWHL, it will be a return to Pittsburgh after a very successful visit in February, when the league and Penguins co-produced the 2017 All-Star Game, Skills Showdown and Clinic.

"After a terrific All-Star Weekend, we're excited to have the National Women's Hockey League back to Pittsburgh next season," said David Morehouse, President and CEO of the Pittsburgh Penguins.

Further details, including the two participating NWHL teams, will be available when the league releases its 2017-18 schedule later this summer.

"The Penguins are the champions of the NHL, and they continue to show that they are also dedicated champions of women's hockey," said NWHL Deputy Commissioner Hayley Moore. "All-Star Weekend in Pittsburgh significantly increased the footprint of the NWHL. We are delighted that the Penguins welcomed us back for more events, and are proud to be working with them again."

The game in Pittsburgh will be one in a small series of neutral site games the NWHL is planning for its third season. For the second consecutive year, the 2018 NWHL All-Star Game will be played in a major market outside of the Founding Four franchises.

About the National Women's Hockey League (NWHL)
The NWHL is the first professional women's hockey league in North America to pay its players and share in revenue from select apparel sales. The inaugural season began October 11, 2015 with the Founding Four: Boston Pride, Buffalo Beauts, Connecticut Whale and New York Riveters. The first two winners of the Isobel Cup were the Pride (2016) and the Beauts (2017).

View More