Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Pittsburgh Penguins

Penguins Conclude Development Camp with 3-on-3 Tournament

The games begin at 7:00 PM at the UPMC Lemieux Sports Complex and are free to the public

by Pittsburgh Penguins @penguins / Media Release

The Pittsburgh Penguins will wrap up their annual prospect development camp with a 3-on-3 tournament tonight at the UPMC Lemieux Sports Complex in Cranberry. The games will begin at 7:00 PM. Games will be played on both the FedEx Rink and the Covestro Innovation Rink.

Both contests on the FedEx Rink, which includes tonight's championship game, will be broadcast live on and the Penguins' official app. Penguins' radio broadcaster Josh Getzoff will be providing play-by-play, while Michelle Crechiolo of @PensInsideScoop will do color commentary. 

This is the fourth year the Penguins have ended their development camp with a 3-on-3 tournament, as the victor will capture the Michel Briere Cup. Briere played one season with the Penguins in 1969-70, scoring 12 goals and 44 points. He suffered major head trauma in an automobile accident following that season, passing away from his injuries 11 months later in 1971. His number is one of two retired by the Penguins, alongside Mario Lemieux's No. 66.

All players have been divided into four teams, with each named after one of the four highest-scoring players in team history: Mario Lemieux, Sidney Crosby, Jaromir Jagr, and Evgeni Malkin.

The format for tonight's 3-on-3 games is as follows:

  • There will be two 14-minute periods with a stopped clock between whistles.
  • The ice will be resurfaced in-between games.
  • All penalties will result in penalty shots, with the all on-ice players chasing from behind. Play will resume on a missed opportunity.
  • In the event of a tie, NHL shootout rules will apply: a three-man shootout, followed by sudden death.

The winners of the two games played at 7:00 PM will meet in the championship game, while the other two teams play a consolation match.

Tonight's 3-on-3 tournament concludes a complete NHL game-day experience for the 41 prospects. Their day begins with a traditional morning skate at 10:30 and 11:30 AM, and it includes meetings and workouts, just like the routine enjoyed by the Penguins during NHL regular-season play.

Here are the rosters and coaches for tonight's 3-on-3 tournament:

Team Lemieux

Coach: Kevin Stevens - Special Assignment Scout

75 Brandon Biro F
84 Liam Gorman F
36 Brandon Hawkins F
34 Nathan Legare F
15 Josh Williams F
44 Santeri Airola D
22 Zachary Lauzon D
70 Cam Lee D
84 Antti Palojarvi D
31 Matt Murray G
Number Name Position
Team Crosby

Coach: Tom Kostopoulos - Player Development Coach

39 Roman Ahcan F
38 Chase Berger F
11 Filip Hallander F
16 Austin Lemieux F
23 Valteri Puustinen F
26 Eduards Tralmaks F
79 Niclas Almari D
32 Ryan Jones D
52 Tyler Spott D
33 Alex D'Orio G
50 Matt Jurusik G
Number Name Position
Team Jagr

Coach: Brett Larson - St. Cloud State Head Coach

78 Renars Krastenbergs F
45 Jake Lucchini F
18 Sam Poulin F
41 Jared Spooner F
49 Bobby Trivigno F
62 Roni Allen D
67 Michael Kim D
61 Clayton Phillips D
80 Liam Ross D
60 Emil Larmi G
Number Name Position
Team Malkin

Coach: Scott Young - Director of Player Development

64 Jordy Bellerive F
74 Matt Boucher F
24 Judd Caulfield F
82 Jan Drozg F
14 Billy Moskal F
43 Quinn Preston F
76 Calen Addison D
48 Jon Lizotte D
25 Will Reilly D
65 Tommy Nappier G
Number Name Position

Jordy Bellerive (2017), Jake Lucchini ('18), Clayton Phillips ('18), and Alex D'Orio ('18) are all vying to become the first-ever two-time Michel Briere Cup champion.

Here are the past 3-on-3 winners whose names have been engraved on the Michel Briere Cup:

2018: Jeff Malott, Tobias Lindberg, Jake Lucchini, Casey Dornbach, Justin Almeida, Lewis Zerter-Gossage, Clayton Phillips, Joe Masonius, Carter Robinson, Alex D'Orio (G)

2017: Bobo Carpenter, Kasper Bjorkqvist, Nolan Volcan, Mason Jobst, Sam Lafferty, Anthony Angello, Jordy Bellerive, Jeff Taylor, Connor Hall, Stephen Dhillon (G)

2016: Blaine Byron, Gage Quinney, Nikita Pavlychev, Ryan Segalla, Lukas Bengtsson, Austin Ortega, Chandler Yakimowicz, Connor Hall, Sean Maguire (G)

View More