5.30.24 Slavo

RALEIGH, NC. - The National Hockey League today announced that Carolina Hurricanes defenseman Jaccob Slavin has been selected as the winner of the 2023-24 Lady Byng Memorial Trophy, given annually to the player who best combines sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct with a high standard of playing ability. Slavin became just the fourth defenseman in NHL history to win the Lady Byng Trophy in 2020-21, and he has now joined four-time winner Red Kelly (1950-51, 1952-53, 1953-54, 1960-61) as the second blueliner to receive the honor in multiple seasons.

Slavin, 30, tallied 37 points (6g, 31a) in 81 regular-season games in 2023-24, reaching the 30-assist mark for the third time. He led all Hurricanes defensemen with a career-high 34 even-strength points (4g, 3a) and finished tied for the team lead in shorthanded goals (2), matching Mark Howe’s franchise career record for defensemen (4). The 6’3,” 213-pound defenseman logged 20:56 of ice time per game, finishing above 20:00 for the ninth time in as many seasons, and he led the team in takeaways (71) and blocked shots (120). He also logged a team-high 2:38 of shorthanded ice time per game, anchoring the NHL’s top penalty kill (86.4%). Slavin ranked ninth in the league in takeaways and trailed only Colton Parayko (St. Louis, 73) for the most of any defenseman, yet he was assessed just eight penalty minutes for the second straight campaign. Slavin added three points (1g, 2a) and a team-high 20 blocked shots in 11 contests during the 2024 Stanley Cup Playoffs, and his +5 rating finished tied with Brady Skjei for team lead among blueliners.

Slavin has recorded 272 points (49g, 223a) in 665 games with Carolina, passing Dave Babych and Justin Faulk for the most assists and points, respectively, of any blueliner in franchise history. Since debuting in 2015-16, he has earned the second-most takeaways of any NHL skater (638) while being assessed the fewest penalty minutes of any blueliner with at least 400 games played over that span (86). Among all defensemen to log at least 300 career games, his 0:07 of penalty minutes per game ranks tied with Bill Quackenbush for the lowest mark in NHL history. Slavin (3) and Quackenbush (2) are two of just five NHL blueliners to be named a finalist for the Lady Byng Trophy in multiple seasons, alongside Kelly (7), Nicklas Lidstrom (6), and Jared Spurgeon (2). The Erie, Colo., native also holds franchise records for career playoff games played (71), assists (29) and points (36) by a defenseman, and his seven playoff goals are tied with Dave Babych for the most of any Whalers/Hurricanes blueliner. Slavin has been assessed just 10 penalty minutes in the postseason, and he posted the longest career-opening streak of playoff games without a penalty by any defenseman in league history (36 games).

Slavin is one of two players in franchise history to win the Lady Byng Trophy, alongside Ron Francis (2001-02), and he is the only Whalers/Hurricanes player to be selected as a finalist for the award multiple times. The other finalists for the 2023-24 Lady Byng Trophy were Toronto Maple Leafs forward Auston Matthews and Vancouver Canucks forward Elias Pettersson.