Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Carolina Hurricanes

Hurricanes Protection List for 2021 NHL Expansion Draft

Team protected seven forwards, three defensemen and a goalie

by Michael Smith @MSmithCanes /

The Carolina Hurricanes' protection list for the 2021 NHL Expansion Draft has been finalized.

The Canes elected to protect seven forwards, three defensemen and one goalie. Here is the team's protection list.


  • Sebastian Aho
  • Jesper Fast
  • Warren Foegele (RFA)
  • Jordan Staal
  • Andrei Svechnikov (RFA)
  • Teuvo Teravainen
  • Vincent Trocheck


  • Brett Pesce
  • Brady Skjei
  • Jaccob Slavin


  • Alex Nedeljkovic (RFA)

The collection of Canes players exempt from the Expansion Draft is highlighted by Martin Necas, who played his second full NHL season in 2020-21, in addition to top prospects Seth Jarvis, Ryan Suzuki and more, plus all of the team's unsigned draft picks.


That means that the following Canes players have been exposed for potential selection in the Expansion Draft.


  • Morgan Geekie
  • Steven Lorentz
  • Jordan Martinook (UFA)
  • Max McCormick (UFA)
  • Brock McGinn (UFA)
  • Nino Niederreiter
  • Cedric Paquette (UFA)
  • Sheldon Rempal (UFA)
  • Drew Shore (UFA)
  • Spencer Smallman (RFA)


  • Jake Bean (RFA)
  • Jake Gardiner
  • Eric Gelinas
  • Jani Hakanpaa (UFA)
  • Dougie Hamilton (UFA)
  • Maxime Lajoie (RFA)
  • Roland McKeown (UFA)
  • Joakim Ryan (UFA)
  • David Warsofsky (UFA)


  • Antoine Bibeau (UFA)
  • Jeremy Helvig (RFA)
  • Petr Mrazek (UFA)
  • James Reimer (UFA)
  • Dylan Wells (RFA)

The Seattle Kraken will select one player from each team (excluding the Vegas Golden Knights) for a total of 30 players. Seattle must draft at least 14 forwards, nine defensemen and three goaltenders, leaving four "wild card" roster spots. Of the 30 players the Kraken select, 20 must be under contract for the 2021-22 season.

The Kraken have until Wednesday, July 21 at 10 a.m. ET to make and submit their Expansion Draft selections, and the 32nd NHL member club's roster will then be revealed at 8 p.m. ET that night on ESPN2.

View More