Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Pittsburgh Penguins

Avs, Pens, Preds & Canes Crowned Sled Classic Champs

by / Media Release

A pair of Colorado Avalanche squads, along with the Pittsburgh Penguins, Nashville Predators and Carolina Hurricanes, each earned titles on Sunday (Nov. 20) at the seventh annual USA Hockey Sled Classic, presented by the NHL.

The four-day event that commenced last Thursday (Nov. 17) was hosted by the Nashville Predators at the Ford Ice Center in Antioch, Tennessee. The field included a record 24 teams, each affiliated with an NHL club. 

The Colorado Avalanche won a pair of division titles by topping the Buffalo Sabres, 6-2, in the Tier I title game and edging the Anaheim Ducks, 4-2, in the Tier III championship game. The Pittsburgh Penguins defeated the Philadelphia Flyers, 7-3, to claim the Tier II crown while the Nashville Predators blanked the Boston Bruins, 3-0, in the Tier III championship game. In the first-ever Tier V title game, the Carolina Hurricanes shut out the Pittsburgh Penguins, 3-0, for the division title.

Other NHL clubs that sponsored teams included the Arizona Coyotes, Chicago Blackhawks, Dallas Stars, Florida Panthers, Los Angeles Kings, Minnesota Wild, St. Louis Blues and Tampa Bay Lightning. Each sled hockey team represented its affiliated NHL club by wearing official NHL licensed jerseys with local club marks and logos. 

For full tournament results and statistics, click below.


NOTES: The event was part of the fifth annual Come Play Hockey Month, a joint effort between USA Hockey and the NHL ... Five NHL clubs - the Boston Bruins, Buffalo Sabres, Chicago Blackhawks, Colorado Avalanche, and Pittsburgh Penguins - had two affiliated teams in this year's USA Hockey Sled Classic while the Nashville Predators had three teams ... The Colorado Avalanche hosted the inaugural USA Hockey Sled Classic in 2010 in Denver, where the Colorado Avalanche Sled Hockey Team won the four-team tournament … In 2011, the Philadelphia Flyers held the event in Voorhees, New Jersey, where the Buffalo Sabres Sled Hockey Team took first place among nine teams … In 2012, the Buffalo Sabres put on the tournament in Williamsville, New York, with the Dallas Stars winning the 'A' Division and the Washington Capitals capturing the 'B' Division … In 2013, the Pittsburgh Penguins hosted the tournament in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, and the Dallas Stars and Washington Capitals repeated as the 'A' and B' Division champions, while the Nashville Predators won the inaugural 'C' Division … In 2014, the Washington Capitals hosted the tournament in Arlington, Virginia, where the Chicago Blackhawks captured the Tier I Division, the Philadelphia Flyers claimed the Tier II Division, and the Minnesota Wild won the Tier III division ... Last year, the Florida Panthers held the tournament in Sunrise, Florida, where the Florida Panthers captured the Tier I Division, the Columbus Blue Jackets claimed the Tier II crown, the Arizona Coyotes won the Tier III Division and the Buffalo Sabres captured the first-ever Tier IV title. For more information on the sport of sled hockey, click here.

View More