Skip to Main Content
free agency

NHL salary arbitration hearings completed

Six of 40 players awarded contract @NHLdotcom

Six NHL players were awarded a contract by an arbitrator after 40 restricted free agents filed earlier this offseason.

Rocco Grimaldi of the Nashville Predators (one year, $1 million) was one of three players to be awarded a contract Tuesday after having his hearing Sunday. Carolina Hurricanes goalie Anton Forsberg (one year, $775,000) and St. Louis Blues defenseman Joel Edmundson (one year, $3.1 million) also were awarded a contract Tuesday.

Buffalo Sabres forward Evan Rodrigues had his hearing July 23 and was awarded a one-year, $2 million contract.

On July 24, Washington Capitals defenseman Christian Djoos was awarded a one-year, $1.25 million contract following a hearing two days earlier. Winnipeg Jets forward Andrew Copp was awarded a two-year, $4.56 million contract (average annual value of $2.28 million) July 23 after becoming the first player to have a hearing this offseason on July 21.

Blues goalie Jordan Binnington, Calgary Flames forward Sam Bennett and goalie David Rittich, New York Rangers forward Pavel Buchnevich and defenseman Jacob Trouba, and Predators forward Colton Sissons are among the players who agreed to a contract after filing but before their scheduled hearing date. Hurricanes forward Brock McGinn agreed to a contract July 20, the same day he was scheduled for a hearing, and Florida Panthers defenseman MacKenzie Weegar, who had a hearing scheduled for July 22, agreed to terms on a one-year contract the Panthers announced July 25 without releasing financial terms.

Last offseason, 44 restricted free agents filed for arbitration. Trouba, then with the Jets; Ottawa Senators defenseman Cody Ceci, now with the Toronto Maple Leafs; and Flames defenseman Brett Kulak, now with the Montreal Canadiens, were the only players to have their salary determined by an arbitrator. Anaheim Ducks defenseman Brandon Montour, now with the Sabres, had a hearing but signed before the arbitrator's ruling. The other 40 each came to an agreement before his scheduled hearing.

Video: Notable players to file for arbitration

Here is the list of players who filed for salary arbitration as provided by the NHLPA:

Anaheim Ducks

Chase De Leo (signed July 16)

Boston Bruins

Danton Heinen (signed July 9)

Buffalo Sabres

Remi Elie (agreed to terms Aug. 1), Jake McCabe (agreed to terms Aug. 3), Evan Rodrigues (arbitrator awarded one-year, $2 million contract July 25), Linus Ullmark (agreed to terms Aug. 3)

Calgary Flames

Sam Bennett (signed July 24), Ryan Lomberg (signed July 16), David Rittich (signed July 27), Rinat Valiev (signed July 16)

Carolina Hurricanes

Anton Forsberg (arbitrator awarded one year, $775,000 contract Aug. 6), Brock McGinn (signed July 20)

Colorado Avalanche

J.T. Compher (signed July 17), Sheldon Dries (signed July 25), Ryan Graves (signed July 8)

Dallas Stars

Jason Dickinson (signed July 11)

Florida Panthers

MacKenzie Weegar (agreed to terms July 25)

Los Angeles Kings

Alex Iafallo (signed July 10)

Montreal Canadiens

Joel Armia (agreed to terms July 11), Charles Hudon (agreed to terms July 19), Artturi Lehkonen (agreed to terms July 11)

Nashville Predators

Rocco Grimaldi (signed Aug. 4), Colton Sissons (signed July 23)

New Jersey Devils

Will Butcher, (signed July 31), Connor Carrick (signed July 16), Mirco Mueller (agreed to terms July 22)

New York Rangers

Pavel Buchnevich (agreed to terms July 26), Jacob Trouba (agreed to terms July 19)

Philadelphia Flyers

Scott Laughton (signed July 12)

Pittsburgh Penguins

Zach Aston-Reese (signed July 22)

St. Louis Blues

Jordan Binnington (agreed to terms July 13), Joel Edmundson (arbitrator awarded one-year, $3.1 milion contract Aug. 6), Ville Husso (agreed to terms July 20), Zach Sanford (signed July 8), Oskar Sundqvist, (agreed to terms July 21)

Tampa Bay Lightning

Cedric Paquette (signed July 5

Vegas Golden Knights

Malcolm Subban (signed July 9)

Washington Capitals

Christian Djoos (arbitrator awarded one-year, $1.25 million contract July 24)Chandler Stephenson (signed July 27)

Winnipeg Jets

Andrew Copp (arbitrator awarded two-year contract with AAV of $2.28 million July 23), Neal Pionk (agreed to terms July 21)

View More