Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Arizona Coyotes

Coyotes 11-Player Protected List for the 2021 NHL Expansion Draft

Arizona protects seven forwards, three defenseman and one goalie

by Alex Kinkopf @AEKinkopf / Arizona Coyotes

The Coyotes, in conjunction with the National Hockey League, announced Sunday their list of protected players for the 2021 NHL Expansion Draft. The list comprises seven forwards, three defensemen, and one goalie.

Forwards (7):

  • Lawson Crouse
  • Christian Dvorak
  • Conor Garland
  • Clayton Keller
  • Phil Kessel
  • Johan Larsson
  • Nick Schmaltz

Defensemen (3):

  • Kyle Capobianco
  • Jakob Chychrun
  • Oliver Ekman-Larsson

Goaltender (1):

  • Darcy Kuemper 

In addition to those Coyotes, players with two or fewer professional seasons and unsigned draft picks also are exempt.

The expansion Seattle Kraken must submit its Expansion Draft selections to the NHL's Central Registry and the NHL Players' Association by 7 a.m. PT pm Wednesday, July 21. The Kraken's selections will be broadcast at 5 p.m. PT on ESPN2, marking the start of the seven-year media rights deal between Disney, ESPN and the NHL. The deal runs through 2027-28. The event will be held at Gas Works Park in Seattle.

The Kraken will select 30 players, one from the Coyotes and one from 29 other clubs. The Vegas Golden Knights are exempt due to a 2016 agreement between the Golden Knights and the NHL.

The Kraken can choose one Coyote from the following list of 27 players:

Forwards (14): Derick Brassard, Michael Bunting, Brayden Burke, Michael Chaput, Hudson Fasching, Christian Fischer, Frederik Gauthier, John Hayden, Dryden Hunt, Andrew Ladd, Lane Pederson, Tyler Pitlick, Blake Speers, Tyler Steenbergen

Defensemen (10): Jason Demers, Cam Dineen, Alex Goligoski, Jordan Gross, Niklas Hjalmarsson, Ilya Lyubushkin, Dysin Mayo, Aaron Ness, Jordan Oesterle, Vili Saarijarvi

Goalies (3): Josef Kořenář, Marek Langhamer, Antti Raanta

View More