Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Nashville Predators

Five Preds to Participate in 2019 IIHF World Championship

Josi, Weber, Turris, Fabbro, Ekholm Set to Skate in Annual Tournament

by Brooks Bratten @brooksbratten / Senior Communications & Content Coordinator

Five members of the Nashville Predators will skate for their respective countries at the 2019 IIHF World Championship beginning this Friday.

Preds Captain Roman Josi and Yannick Weber (Switzerland), forward Kyle Turris and defenseman Dante Fabbro (Canada) and defenseman Mattias Ekholm (Sweden) will all vie for gold in the 16-team tournament May 10-26 in Slovakia, with Sweden trying for a third-consecutive title.

Ekholm was a member of the victorious Swedish squad last year, with fellow Preds Filip Forsberg and Viktor Arvidsson also taking part. Josi was a member of last year's Swiss team that earned silver after falling to Sweden in the Gold Medal Game.

This will mark Josi's eighth appearance with Switzerland at the World Championship; he has served as an alternate captain during the past three installments and earned a silver medal in both 2013 and 2018. Weber is set to make his fourth appearance with Switzerland in search of his first medal.

Turris will participate in his third World Championship for Canada, while Fabbro is set to skate in his first after making his NHL debut with the Predators in March. Neither Turris nor Fabbro have medaled at the tournament previously.

Ekholm will skate in his sixth World Championship for Sweden after collecting bronze in 2014 and gold in 2018.

NHL Network will broadcast more than 30 live games from the World Championship, including a matchup featuring Josi and Weber against Ekholm when Sweden and Switzerland clash on May 18 at 1 p.m. CT.

Click here for a full schedule from the IIHF, and stay tuned to in the coming days and weeks for continuing coverage on Nashville's tournament participants.

Update: Kyle Turris has been named captain of Team Canada. 

Tweet from @HC_Men: Your 2019 #IIHFWorlds Team Canada captains:����� - Kyle Turris🅰��� - Sean Couturier🅰��� ��� Mark Stone

View More