Jack Diller Education Award

In 2024, a total of $10,000 in college scholarships was awarded to the four students, who were selected from more than 120 high school seniors from 75 different high schools who applied for the award. The Predators Foundation has awarded $190,000 as of 2024 and continues to grow each year.

How To Apply

Step 1 - Student applicants must meet the following criteria:
  • College-bound senior currently attending a Nashville or Middle Tennessee area high school (must be attending college in the fall of 2024).
  • Display leadership qualities in the classroom and/or inspirational qualities on the athletic field.
  • Minimum grade point average of 3.0 from sophomore to senior high school year.
  • Demonstrate the value of education, good work ethic and community outreach.
  • Scholarship payment will be paid directly to institution of the students’ choice.
  • Merit and need are considered when evaluating applicants.

There will be no discrimination regardless of gender, race or religion when choosing a successful scholarship recipient. The Selection Committee will not base its decisions in any way on the employment status of an applicant or the employment status of the applicant's parents/guardians.

Immediate family members, relatives and front office employees in association with the selection committee and the sponsoring sports teams are not eligible for consideration of a scholarship.

Step 2 - Each student must submit the following information to complete this application:
  • Essay: Former Nashville Predators President Jack Diller was known for his visible community persona and dedication to strengthening the team's relationship with the city of Nashville. As a candidate for this scholarship, please write a 2-3 page essay explaining your community involvement or leadership role and the ways it has impacted you (essays longer than 3 pages will not be considered).
  • **Apply Online**. Deadline to apply: Monday, February 26 at 11:59 p.m.

Award Recipients

2024 Recipients
  • Ashley Cope from Bell Buckle (University of Tennessee Southern)
  • Evan Gainer from Brentwood (Auburn University)
  • Harper Guthrie from Lascassas (Lipscomb University)
  • Connor Rosson from Culleoka (Auburn University)
2023 Recipients
  • Zachary Lawson from Smyrna (Lee University)
  • Samirakhon Makhkamjonova from Nashville (Columbia University)
  • Caiden Plant from Waverly (University of Tennessee, Knoxville)
  • Jiya Nandrey from Franklin (Indiana University)
2022 Recipients
  • Hannah Bhattacharya from Brentwood (Vanderbilt University)
  • Anna Driller from Cookeville (Volunteer State Community College)
  • Ethan Estes from Bell Buckle (Middle Tennessee State University)
  • Graci Semptimphelter from Franklin (Ohio Wesleyan University)
2021 Recipients
  • Kate Castle from Mt. Juliet (Milligan University)
  • Ricardo Zaragoza Martinez from Gallatin (University of Tennessee at Knoxville)
  • Jesa Moore from Unionville (University of Tennessee at Chattanooga)
  • Elizabeth Swartz from Nashville (Rollins College)
2020 Recipients
  • Josh Roper from Brentwood (University of Tennessee at Knoxville)
  • Calli Dye from Hohenwald (University of North Alabama)
  • Walker McKnight from Nashville (Washington and Lee University)
  • Sam Kirkpatrick from Nashville (College of the Holy Cross)
2019 Recipients
  • Emilee Klier from Franklin (University of Alabama-Huntsville)
  • Hannah Duncan from Clarksville (Whitworth University)
  • Mallory Anderson (UT-Chattanooga)
  • Shaye Sweatt from Antioch (Trevecca Nazarene University)
2018 Recipients
  • Conor Newsom from Smyrna (Harding University)
  • Courtney Rabb from Brentwood (Harvard College)
  • Dereginald Braxton from Nashville (University of Tennessee at Knoxville)
  • Hannah Armistead from Brentwood (Yale University)
2017 Recipients
  • Phoebe Barber from Hohenwald (MTSU)
  • Amy Nguyen from Nashville (Baylor University)
  • William Peters from Nashville (Boston College)
  • Sydney Smith from Wartrace (UT-Chattanooga)
2016 Recipients
  • Jeffrey Funk from Nashville (Auburn University)
  • William Pace from Fayetteville (Vanderbilt University)
  • Callie Warren from Hendersonville (Lee University)
  • Xiuya Yao from Nashville (Yale University)
2015 Recipients
  • Melanie Brumfield of Murfreesboro (Mississippi State University)
  • William Kaufmann of Nashville (Trevecca Nazarene University)
  • Lauren Reese of Antioch (Tennessee Tech University)
  • Dylan Sandoval of Morrison (Middle Tennessee State University)
2014 Recipients
  • Christian Harris of Columbia (University of Alabama)
  • Kaycee Hurd of Ashland City (Martin Methodist College)
  • Chase Lutz of Spring Hill (University of Missouri)
  • Emily Spence of Lewisburg (University of Tennessee at Knoxville)
2013 Recipients
  • Jayce Arnette of Franklin (North Carolina State University)
  • Taylor Blanton of Woodbury (Tennessee Tech University)
  • Katherine Ferguson of Nashville (Auburn University)
  • Hunter Kinslow of Nashville (University of Tennessee at Knoxville)
2012 Recipients
  • Haley Doty of White House (Lincoln Memorial University)
  • Jordan LaRocca of Spring Hill (Lee University)
  • Sarah Plantz of Brentwood (University of South Carolina at Columbia)
  • Christopher Wilson of Gallatin (Tennessee Tech University)
2011 Recipients
  • Leena Patel of Springfield (Sewanee University)
  • Abigail Wilson of Gallatin (Cumberland University)
  • Patrick Brooks of Brentwood 
  • Ian Kukowski of Brentwood (University of Pennsylvania)
2010 Recipients
  • Greg Ray of Manchester (Middle Tennessee State University)
  • Whitley Rowlett of Mt. Juliet (Middle Tennessee State University)
  • Tazlyn Saez of Lebanon (Volunteer State Community College)
  • Joseph Scearce of Murfreesboro (University of Tennessee, Knoxville)
2009 Recipients
  • Anna Caruso of Winchester (Middle Tennessee State University)
  • Reginald Ford of Nashville (Vanderbilt University)
  • Rudi Monyjang of Nashville (University of Tennessee at Knoxville)
  • Tavares Smith of Nashville (Bethune-Cookman University)
2008 Recipients
  • Jeremy Bost of Mt. Juliet (Lipscomb University)
  • Rebecca Brewster of Brentwood (University of Georgia - Athens)
  • Michael Heslin of Hendersonville (University of Tennessee at Knoxville)
  • Chelsey Traughber of Cedar Hill (Austin Peay State University)
2007 Recipients
  • Isabel Boersma of Franklin (College of Charleston)
  • Ryan Proctor of Nashville (Auburn University)
  • Adriana Short of Madison (Middle Tennessee State University)
  • Charles Tomkins of Gallatin (University of Tennessee - Chattanooga)
2006 Recipients
  • Lisa Bentley of Springfield (Tennessee Tech)
  • Sara Bentley of Springfield (Belmont University)
  • William Dale of Nashville (University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill)
  • Hayley Harmon of Lebanon (Tennessee Tech)
  • Bao Nguyen of Antioch (Belmont University)