Skip to Main Content
Skills Competition

NHL All-Star Skills Competition assignments set

Four players from each team to take part in newest event, Four Line Challenge @NHLdotcom

The assignments are set for the 2017 Coors Light NHL All-Star Skills Competition at Staples Center in Los Angeles on Saturday (7 p.m. ET; NBCSN, CBC, SN, TVA Sports), including 16 skaters who will take part in the newest event, the Honda NHL Four Line Challenge.

One shooter from each of the four division teams will be set at four designated positions: the near blue line, center line, far blue line and far goal line. Points will be awarded for scoring into different areas of the net from different stations.

Shooting for the Atlantic Division will be Nikita Kucherov (Tampa Bay Lightning), Erik Karlsson (Ottawa Senators), Vincent Trocheck (Florida Panthers) and Shea Weber (Montreal Canadiens). For the Metropolitan Division it will be Ryan McDonagh (New York Rangers), Wayne Simmonds (Philadelphia Flyers), Taylor Hall (New Jersey Devils) and Seth Jones (Columbus Blue Jackets). The Central Division squad will be Ryan Suter (Minnesota Wild), Tyler Seguin (Dallas Stars), team captain P.K. Subban (Nashville Predators) and Nathan MacKinnon (Colorado Avalanche). Taking part for the Pacific Division will be Joe Pavelski (San Jose Sharks), Brent Burns (Sharks), Ryan Kesler (Anaheim Ducks) and Bo Horvat (Vancouver Canucks).

The fourth shooter will attempt to score through the five-hole from the far red line for 10 points. A team may substitute a goalie for its fourth shooter; if the goalie scores that team gets 20 points. The team with the most points at the end of the event earns one point in the team competition.

Weber, who has won the hardest shooter contest at the past two All-Star Game Skills Competitions, is among eight players taking part in the Oscar Mayer NHL Hardest Shot challenge. Weber and Victor Hedman of the Tampa Bay Lightning will represent the Atlantic Division against the Metropolitan Division's Jones and Alex Ovechkin (Washington Capitals). Patrik Laine (Winnipeg Jets) and Subban will shoot for the Central Division against Burns and Drew Doughty (Los Angeles Kings) from the Pacific Division. The winning team of each matchup will get one point, and the hardest individual shooter will earn one point for his team. Also, any player that breaks the record of 108.8 mph held by the Boston Bruins' Zdeno Chara will get one bonus point for his team.

In the DraftKings NHL Accuracy Shooting contest, Kyle Okposo (Buffalo Sabres) and Auston Matthews (Toronto Maple Leafs) will represent the Atlantic, going against the Metropolitan Division's John Tavares (New York Islanders) and team captain Sidney Crosby (Pittsburgh Penguins). Laine and Patrick Kane (Chicago Blackhawks) from the Central will go against team captain Connor McDavid (Edmonton Oilers) and Jeff Carter (Los Angeles Kings) of the Pacific.

The Bridgestone NHL Fastest Skater will see the Atlantic Division's Kucherov and Brad Marchand (Boston Bruins) going against Simmonds and Cam Atkinson (Columbus Blue Jackets) of the Metropolitan, and the Central's MacKinnon and Vladimir Tarasenko (St. Louis Blues) against the Pacific's Horvat and McDavid. The winner of each matchup gets one point for his team, the fastest skater overall earns a point for his team, and if anyone can beat the record 13.172 seconds of Dylan Larkin of the Detroit Red Wings, that will player will earn a bonus point for his team.

The Gatorade NHL Skills Challenge Relay will see seven players take part in five challenges: one-timers, passing, puck control, stickhandling and goalie goals. Taking part for the Central will be Duncan Keith (Chicago Blackhawks), Suter, Tarasenko, MacKinnon, Jonathan Toews (Chicago Blackhawks), Seguin, Kane and Devan Dubnyk (Minnesota Wild). They'll go against a Pacific team consisting of Pavelski, Kesler, Carter, Horvat, Doughty, Cam Fowler (Anaheim Ducks), Johnny Gaudreau (Calgary Flames) and Mike Smith (Arizona Coyotes).

The Atlantic Division will have Karlsson, Trocheck, Okposo, Frans Nielsen (Detroit Red Wings), Hedman, Marchand, Matthews and captain Carey Price (Montreal Canadiens). They'll face a Metropolitan team featuring Jones, Ovechkin, Simmonds, McDonagh, Tavares, Justin Faulk (Carolina Hurricanes), Crosby and Braden Holtby (Washington Capitals).

The Discover NHL Shootout will feature nine skaters and two goaltenders from the top-scoring team of the two Eastern Conference divisions against the top-scoring team from the Western Conference divisions. Additionally, the participating team's captains will be able to select one player from the other team in their conference, who will be designated the Discover puck player. Every goal scored earns their team a point, with goals scored by the Discover puck players worth two points.

The division team with the most points at the end of the Skills Competition will be able to pick its opponent for the 2017 Honda NHL All-Star Game on Sunday (3:30 p.m. ET; NBC, CBC, SN, TVA Sports), and whether they play in the first or second semifinal.

View More