Skip to main content
The Official Site of the San Jose Sharks

Radim Simek Voted "Sharks Rookie of the Year"

by San Jose Sharks @sanjosesharks /

SAN JOSE - The San Jose Sharks (@SanJoseSharks) announced today that defenseman Radim Simek has been selected as this year's "Sharks Rookie of the Year" in a vote by Bay Area media. Simek will be recognized in a video presentation during tonight's game against the Colorado Avalanche at SAP Center at San Jose (@SAPCenter).

Simek registered nine points (one goals, eight assists) and a plus-seven rating in 41 games in his first NHL season. He leads Sharks rookies in games played, assists, and points. Simek ranks in the top-10 in takeaways (14) and plus/minus among NHL rookie defensemen.

The 26-year-old made his NHL debut on Dec. 2 at Montreal, logging 13:10 total time on ice. He was the first Sharks defenseman to make his NHL debut and be a plus-1 rating or better since Mirco Mueller on Dec. 8, 2014 against the Los Angeles Kings, and the ninth San Jose defenseman in franchise history to ever do so. Simek was a just one of three defensemen to be a plus-player in each of his first two career NHL games as a member of the Sharks. 

He recorded his first career NHL point with an assist on Dec. 5 vs. Carolina. His first goal came only a week later on Dec. 12 vs. New Jersey. Simek and Lukas Radil became the ninth set of teammates in NHL history to score their first career goals and have them stand as the game-winning goal, in consecutive games (12/8-12/10). 

Simek earned his first career point streak (one goal, one assist) from Dec. 10 to Dec. 13. He also logged his first career multi-assist game Dec. 18 at Minnesota.

The five-foot-eleven, 200-pound native of Benatky nad Jizerou, Czech Republic was undrafted, and signed by the Sharks as a free agent in May of 2017.

2017-18 Joakim Ryan
2016-17 Kevin Labanc
2015-16 Joonas Donskoi
2014-15 Melker Karlsson 
2013-14 Matt Nieto & Tomas Hertl
2012-13 Matt Irwin 
2011-12 Andrew Desjardins 
2010-11 Logan Couture
2009-10 Jason Demers 
2008-09 Tomas Plihal 
2007-08 Torrey Mitchell 
2006-07 Marc-Edouard Vlasic 
2005-06 Milan Michalek 
2003-04 Tom Preissing 
2002-03 Jim Fahey 
2001-02 Matt Bradley 
2000-01 Evgeni Nabokov 
1999-00 Brad Stuart 
1998-99 Alexander Korolyuk 
1997-98 Patrick Marleau, Marco Sturm, Andrei Zyuzin 
1996-97 Stephen Guolla 
1995-96 Marcus Ragnarsson 
1994-95 Jeff Friesen

View More