Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Ottawa Senators

Senators News

Sens protect 11 ahead of NHL Expansion Draft

by Matt Tidcombe @matttidcombe

Ahead of Wednesday's NHL Expansion Draft, the Ottawa Senators have protected 11 players. 

The Senators went the route of protecting seven forwards, three defencemen and one goaltender ahead of Sunday's deadline. 

Up front, the Sens protected Drake Batherson, Connor Brown, Logan Brown, Nick Paul, Brady Tkachuk, Austin Watson and Colin White. Additionally, blue liners Thomas Chabot, Victor Mete and Nikita Zaitsev were protected alongside goaltender Filip Gustavsson.

All first- and second-year professionals are exempt from selection, as are unsigned draft choices. The Vegas Golden Knights were also expempt from exposing any players. To check out the complete list of all players protected, and unprotected, click here

The Seattle Kraken have until 10 a.m. ET on Wednesday to submit their expansion draft selections. They must choose 30 players, one from each team, and must take a minimum of 14 forwards, nine defensemen and three goalies from the lists of unprotected players.

Seattle's selections will be announced as part of the 2021 NHL Expansion Draft presented by Upper Deck on Wednesday (8 p.m. ET; ESPN2, SN, SN NOW).

View More