Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Nashville Predators

Subban Named Central Division Captain for 2018 NHL All-Star Game

Predators Defenseman Voted All-Star Captain for Second Consecutive Season

by Brooks Bratten @brooksbratten / Communications & Content Coordinator

He - and you - have done it again.

For the second consecutive season, Nashville Predators defenseman P.K. Subban has been named captain of the Central Division All-Star team, as determined by the NHL All-Star Fan Vote, with the blueliner receiving the most votes of any Central Division player.

Subban made history last season when he became the first Predators player to be named captain of an NHL All-Star Team. NHL fans voted for their favorite players in each division to be named captain of their squads, with Subban leading the voting results in the Central throughout the process over the past month.

"It means a lot - very few athletes get to have not just the support of their own fanbase, but a global fanbase as well, and I'm very happy considering that I've heard more boos in other arenas than cheers," Subban smiled. "But it's a great honor, and I'm pretty happy to hear that I have the support of a lot of hockey fans."

Joining Subban as captains of their respective divisions are Connor McDavid of the Edmonton Oilers (Pacific), Alexander Ovechkin of the Washington Capitals (Metropolitan) and Steven Stamkos of the host Tampa Bay Lightning (Atlantic).

"I'm just excited to represent our team again," Subban said. "The Predators have given me so much opportunity since coming here, and I'm just happy to make the best of it."

Subban and his Central Division teammates will compete at the 2018 NHL All-Star Weekend in Tampa Bay, Florida, on Jan. 27-28. This will be Subban's third consecutive appearance at NHL All-Star Weekend, with his first nod coming in Nashville during the 2016 All-Star festivities.

For the third straight year, the 2018 Honda NHL® All-Star Game will once again feature the 3-on-3 All-Star Tournament, showcasing the NHL's most talented star players from each division. The All-Star Tournament will feature three 20-minute games, with star players from each Division making up the four All-Star teams: Pacific, Central, Atlantic, and Metropolitan. Each team will be made up of 11 players from each Division: six forwards, three defensemen and two goaltenders. 

The remaining players who will comprise the four All-Star rosters will be determined by the National Hockey League Hockey Operations Department and announced on Wednesday, Jan. 10.

View More