Skip to Main Content
This Date in NHL History

May 17: Islanders win fourth consecutive Stanley Cup championship

Plus: Lemieux scores in seventh straight playoff game for Penguins; Dryden first goalie to get point in Final

by John Kreiser @jkreiser7713 / Managing Editor

Memories: Isles win fourth Cup

Memories: Isles win fourth-straight Stanley Cup

On May 17, 1983, the New York Islanders became only the second team in NHL history to win the Stanley Cup four consecutive times

  • 01:10 •


1983: The New York Islanders take their place among the NHL's greatest teams by winning the Stanley Cup for the fourth consecutive year.

The Islanders score three times in the first period and defeat the Edmonton Oilers 4-2 at Nassau Coliseum to complete a four-game sweep in the Cup Final. Bryan Trottier, John Tonelli and Mike Bossy score in a span of 1:37 to give the Islanders a three-goal lead, and Ken Morrow hits the empty net to complete the victory.

Bossy becomes the first player since Jack Darragh in 1920-21 to score the Cup-winning goal in back-to-back years.

Billy Smith makes 24 saves for the win and is voted winner of the Conn Smythe Trophy as playoff MVP after the Islanders hold Wayne Gretzky without a goal in the series.



1979: Ken Dryden of the Montreal Canadiens becomes the first goalie in NHL history to get a point in the Stanley Cup Final. Dryden is credited with an assist on Jacques Lemaire's goal at 17:10 of the third period that wraps up a 4-1 win against the New York Rangers at Madison Square Garden in Game 3. Dryden makes 19 saves, allowing only a third-period goal by Ron Duguay, and helps the Canadiens take a 2-1 lead in the best-of-7 series.


1981: Butch Goring of the Islanders becomes the first player in NHL history to score three goals in a playoff game with two different teams. His hat trick helps New York rally past the Minnesota North Stars 7-5 at Met Center in Game 3 of the Final. It comes four years after Goring scores three goals in a game for the Los Angeles Kings. Bossy scores a goal for his Stanley Cup Playoffs-record 30th point, and Minnesota's Dino Ciccarelli scores to set a rookie record for points in a playoff year with 21.

Video: Memories: Ciccarelli sets rookie playoff scoring mark


1987: Gretzky becomes the first player to have 200 career points in the playoffs when he scores a goal and has an assist in Edmonton's 4-2 win against the Philadelphia Flyers at Northlands Coliseum in Game 1 of the Final. Gretzky opens the scoring late in the first period and assists on a goal by Paul Coffey during Edmonton's three-goal third period.


1991: Mario Lemieux sets a Pittsburgh Penguins playoff record by scoring a goal in his seventh consecutive game and extends his team playoff-record point-scoring streak to 15 games during a 4-1 win against the North Stars at the Civic Center in Game 2 of the Final. Lemieux has an assist on a first-period goal by Kevin Stevens, then makes it 3-1 when he beats Jon Casey late in the second period. Tom Barrasso makes 39 saves to help Pittsburgh tie the best-of-7 series 1-1.


1994: Mike Richter makes 16 saves for his fourth shutout of the 1994 playoffs, tying a record held by six other goalies, to help the Rangers defeat the New Jersey Devils 4-0 in Game 2 of the Eastern Conference Final at Madison Square Garden. It's the sixth career playoff shutout for Richter and evens the best-of-7 series 1-1.


2011: Tyler Seguin ties the NHL playoff rookie playoff record for points in a period when he scores twice and has two assists in the second period of the Boston Bruins' 6-5 win against the Tampa Bay Lightning in Game 2 of the Eastern Conference Final at TD Garden. Seguin, selected with the No. 2 pick in the 2010 NHL Draft, becomes the first teenager to get four points in one period of a playoff game and the second rookie to do so.


2013: Sidney Crosby has a hat trick for the Penguins in a 4-3 victory against the Ottawa Senators in Game 2 of the Eastern Conference Semifinal at Consol Energy Center to reach 100 career playoff points. He does it in 75 games, the fifth-fastest in NHL history. Crosby gets his three goals in the first 21:15 to give Pittsburgh a 3-1 lead; a goal by Brenden Morrow midway through the second period turns out to be the game-winner.


2017: The Senators score four goals in the opening 12:52 of the first period and defeat the Penguins 5-1 in Game 3 of the Eastern Conference Final at Canadian Tire Centre. Goalie Marc-Andre Fleury is replaced by Matt Murray after Zack Smith's goal makes it 4-0. It turns out to be Fleury's last appearance with the Penguins, who lose him to the Vegas Golden Knights in the 2017 NHL Expansion Draft.

Video: Sens use strong 1st to down Pens in Game 3, 5-1


2018: The Lightning even the Eastern Conference Final at two wins each with a 4-2 victory against the Washington Capitals in Game 4 at Capital One Arena. Andrei Vasilevskiy makes 36 saves and Alex Killorn scores the go-ahead goal midway through the third period. It's the fourth win in as many games by the road team in the series.


2019: Jordan Binnington makes 29 saves and the St. Louis Blues even the Western Conference Final at two wins apiece with a 2-1 victory against the San Jose Sharks in Game 4 at Enterprise Center. Ivan Barbashev scores 35 seconds into the game for the Blues, and a goal by Tyler Bozak late in the first period proves to be the game-winner. Binnington allows only a third-period goal to Tomas Hertl and becomes the 10th rookie goalie in NHL history to have at least 10 wins in one playoff year.

View More