Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Calgary Flames


Forwards rewarded for their stellar play so far this season


The Stockton Heat announced today in conjunction with the AHL that forwards Glenn Gawdin and Matthew Phillips have been named to the 2020 AHL All-Star Classic presented by the Ontario International Airport.

The AHL All-Star Classic will take place at Toyota Arena in Ontario, Calif., on Jan. 26-27.

"This is a well-deserved recognition for the season that both Glenn and Matthew are having," said Heat General Manager Brad Pascall. "We are extremely proud of them and this is another step forward in their development

Gawdin, 22, leads the team with 11 goals and 33 points in 30 games. He tops Stockton with 22 assists, 13 powerplay points, and is tied for the team lead with seven multi-point games.

Averaging more than a point per game in his second pro season, Gawdin sits third in the AHL in points, trailing Utica's Reid Boucher and Belleville's Drake Batherson.

Gawdin recorded the first four-point game of his career on Dec. 27 against the San Jose Barracuda, posting a goal and three assists.

The Richmond, B.C., native heads into 2020 riding a four-game point streak and is just five points shy of his rookie season point total of 38.

Phillips, 21, is tied for the team lead in goals with 14 and is second in points with 30 in 28 games. The former 2016 sixth-round pick of the Flames, is tied for 11th in the league in points and tied for 12th in goals.

Phillips earned his first NHL call-up with the Flames earlier this season on Dec. 10. Phillips' 14 goals through three months surpassed his rookie total of 13 from last season. Phillips owns the longest point streak on the team this season at seven games, scoring seven goals and 12 points in the run.

Gawdin and Phillips join Curtis Lazar (2018-19), Rasmus Andersson (2017-18), Andrew Mangiapane (2017-18), Mark Jankowski (2016-17) and Derek Grant (2015-16) as Heat All-Star selections during the Heat's first five seasons.

View More