Skip to main content
The Official Site of the St. Louis Blues

Tarasenko Named MAC's Sports Personality of the Year

Previous winners include Hull, MacInnis, Joseph and Shanahan

by Missouri Athletic Club / Press Release

Sports Personality of the Year

Tarasenko to receive award from MAC

Vladimir Tarasenko is honored to be named the MAC's Sports Personality of the Year

  • 01:43 •

ST. LOUIS - St. Louis Blues forward Vladimir Tarasenko is the 2016 winner of the Missouri Athletic Club's "Sports Personality of the Year" award.

He will receive the award at the MAC's Jack Buck Sports Awards presented by Maryville University on Monday, Dec. 5.

Tarasenko had a breakout 2015-16 season as he earned a trip to the NHL All-Star game. His 40 goals ranked fourth in the League. Tarasenko helped the Blues reach the Western Conference Final for the first time since 2001.

The Sports Personality of the Year, an award Jack Buck established in 1970 to annually honor the top St. Louis sports figure, is voted on by members of the MAC. Tarasenko is the seventh Blues player to win the award, following Mike Liut (1981), Brett Hull (1990), Curtis Joseph (1993), Brendan Shanahan (1995), Al MacInnis (1999) and T.J. Oshie (2014).

The MAC's Jack Buck Sports Awards is regarded as the premier sports banquet in St. Louis and has honored some of the biggest names in sports history including Bob Gibson, Joe Torre, Lou Brock, Ozzie Smith, Jackie Joyner-Kersee, Brett Hull, Jimmy Connors, Marshall Faulk, Albert Pujols and Kurt Warner. The banquet will be broadcast on KMOX radio and a one-hour recap show will air on FOX Sports Midwest.

The Missouri Athletic Club is a "Platinum Club of America," a designation awarded to the top 3% of private clubs in the United States. The MAC is pleased to announce that Maryville University will be the presenting sponsor of the 2016 Jack Buck Sports Awards.

View More