Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the St. Louis Blues

Blues roster set for Opening Night

by Chris Pinkert / St. Louis Blues

ST. LOUIS - After a busy offseason, the St. Louis Blues are ready to drop the puck on the 2018-19 campaign.

The club will have a new look when it takes the ice for Opening Night.

Veterans Ryan O'Reilly, Tyler Bozak, Pat Maroon and Chad Johnson were all added to the club in the summer, joining an already impressive core of players that includes names like Vladimir Tarasenko, Jaden Schwartz, Brayden Schenn, Alex Pietrangelo, Colton Parayko, Joel Edmundson and Jake Allen.

David Perron is also back for his third stint with the club, and young players like Robert Thomas, Jordan Kyrou, Sammy Blais and Ivan Barbashev proved enough in training camp to make the Opening Night roster.

Video: Armstrong on roster, injuries and upcoming season

On Tuesday, the Blues recalled Chris Butler and assigned Ville Husso, Chris Thorburn, Zach Sanford and Jake Walman to the AHL's San Antonio Rampage.

Oskar Sundqvist will begin the season on injured reserve, while Robby Fabbri, Erik Foley, Carl Gunnarsson, Luke Opilka and Nikita Soshnikov are not on the active roster due to injuries. Robert Bortuzzo won't play on Opening Night while he serves one more game for his preseason suspension, and newly-acquired defenseman Jakub Jerabek also remains off the active roster until he receives his work visa.

The club started training camp with 52 players but now has its roster for Opening Night, which is Thursday vs. Winnipeg at 7 p.m. at Enterprise Center. A limited number of tickets are available at the Enterprise Center Box Office at online at

Opening Night Roster

Forwards: Ivan Barbashev, Sammy Blais, Tyler Bozak, Jordan Kyrou, Pat Maroon, Ryan O'Reilly, David Perron, Brayden Schenn, Jaden Schwartz, Alexander Steen, Vladimir Tarasenko, Robert Thomas

Defense: Robert Bortuzzo, Jay Bouwmeester, Chris Butler, Vince Dunn, Joel Edmundson, Niko Mikkola, Colton Parayko, Alex Pietrangelo, Jordan Schmaltz

Goalies: Jake Allen, Chad Johnson

Injured Reserve: Oskar Sundqvist

Non-Roster: Robby Fabbri (injured), Erik Foley (injured), Carl Gunnarsson (injured), Jakub Jerabek (awaiting visa), Luke Opilka (injured), Nikita Soshnikov (injured)

View More