Skip to Main Content
This Date in NHL History

June 19: Stars win Stanley Cup on Hull's triple-OT goal

Hurricanes outlast Oilers for first championship; Blackhawks even 2013 Final

by John Kreiser @jkreiser7713 / Managing Editor

1999 Cup Final, Gm6: Dallas Cup

1999 Cup Final, Gm6: Brett Hull's triple OT GWG

June 19: Brett Hull puts the rebound past a prone Sabres Dominik Hasek late in 3rd overtime, and the Dallas Stars win their first Stanley Cup

  • 00:23 •


1999: The Dallas Stars bring the Stanley Cup to Texas for the first time when they defeat the Buffalo Sabres 2-1 in triple overtime to win Game 6 of the Final at Marine Midland Arena.

Brett Hull scores a controversial Cup-winning goal at 14:51 of the third overtime. His foot is in the crease when he puts a rebound past Sabres goaltender Dominik Hasek, but the goal stands under NHL rules because he's deemed to be in possession of the puck.

To Hull, it's the most important of his 844 combined goals in the regular season and Stanley Cup Playoffs.

"It ranks No. 1 to me," he says in 2012. "To go to Dallas and be the missing piece of the puzzle that's going to help them win their Cup, and then to go out and score the goal in overtime; who hasn't sat as a kid on the ice with his buddies and dreamt or pretended that's the goal they've scored? To do it in real life was something special."

It's the first Stanley Cup championship in the history of the Stars franchise, a two-time loser in the Final (1981, 1991) as the Minnesota North Stars before relocating to Dallas in 1993.



2006: The Carolina Hurricanes win their first Stanley Cup championship by defeating the Edmonton Oilers 3-1 in Game 7 of the Final at RBC Center in Raleigh, North Carolina. Goalie Cam Ward makes 22 saves to become the fourth rookie to win the Conn Smythe Trophy as playoff MVP. Defenseman Frantisek Kaberle scores a power-play goal at 4:18 of the second period that proves to be the Cup-winner. It's the first championship for Hurricanes captain Rod Brind'Amour after playing in 1,187 regular-season games, and the first for the franchise that entered the NHL as the Hartford Whalers in 1979.

Video: 2006 Cup Final, Gm7: Canes Ward wins Conn Smythe


2013: Brent Seabrook scores at 9:51 of overtime to give the Chicago Blackhawks a 6-5 win against the Boston Bruins in Game 4 of the Cup Final at TD Garden. The Bruins rally after trailing 3-1, 4-2 and 5-4, but Seabrook becomes the fifth defenseman in NHL history to score two overtime goals in the same playoff year when his screened slap shot from the right circle gets past Bruins goalie Tuukka Rask, tying the best-of-7 series 2-2.


2019: Nikita Kucherov of the Tampa Bay Lightning is the big winner at the NHL Awards in Las Vegas. Kucherov, already winner of the Art Ross Trophy as the NHL's leading scorer, wins the Ted Lindsay Award, given to the League's outstanding player as voted by members of the NHL Players' Association, then becomes the second player in Lightning history to win the Hart Trophy as MVP. Kucherov's teammate Andrei Vasilevskiy takes home the Vezina Trophy as the League's best goalie.

View More

The NHL has updated its Privacy Policy effective January 16, 2020. We encourage you to review it carefully.

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.