Skip to Main Content
Stanley Cup Final

How the Penguins were built

Number of trades during season supplemented core acquired through draft

by Cutler Klein @CutlerKlein / Staff Writer

The Pittsburgh Penguins' ride to their fourth Stanley Cup championship was anything but smooth. 

The players and coaches who defeated the San Jose Sharks 3-1 in Game 6 of the Stanley Cup Final on Sunday and hoisted the Cup looked vastly different from the one that began the season in October. 

Here's how this Stanley Cup champion team was built: 

Beau Bennett, RW:
Selected with the 20th pick of the 2010 NHL Draft. Made his NHL debut Feb. 15, 2013. 

Nick Bonino, C: Acquired from the Vancouver Canucks with defenseman Adam Clendening and a second-round pick in the 2016 draft for forward Brandon Sutter and a 2016 third-round pick on July 28, 2015. Bonino played one season for the Canucks after spending his first five seasons with the Anaheim Ducks. 

Sidney Crosby, C: Selected with the first pick of the 2005 NHL Draft. He became the youngest captain of an NHL team in 2007-08. 

Matt Cullen, C: Signed a one-year contract with the Penguins on Aug. 6, 2015 after spending the previous two seasons with the Nashville Predators. 

Eric Fehr, C: Signed a three-year contract with the Penguins on July 28, 2015. He had played nine of the previous 10 seasons with the Washington Capitals; he was with the Winnipeg Jets in 2011-12. 

Carl Hagelin, LW: Acquired from the Ducks for forward David Perron and Clendening on Jan. 16. Hagelin had been traded to the Ducks in June 2015 after playing his first four seasons with the New York Rangers. 

Patric Hornqvist, RW: Acquired from the Nashville Predators with forward Nick Spaling for forward James Neal on June 27, 2014. Hornqvist had spent his first six NHL seasons with the Predators. 

Phil Kessel, RW: Acquired from the Toronto Maple Leafs with forward Tyler Biggs and defenseman Tim Erixon for forwards Spaling and Kasperi Kapanen, defenseman Scott Harrington and a third-round pick in the 2016 draft. Kessel had spent the previous six seasons with the Maple Leafs. 

Tom Kuhnhackl, RW: Selected by the Penguins in the fourth round (No. 110) of the 2010 draft. He made his NHL debut Jan. 9. 

Chris Kunitz, LW: Acquired from the Ducks with forward Eric Tangradi for defenseman Ryan Whitney on Feb. 26, 2009. Kunitz had spent the previous four seasons with the Ducks. He is an alternate captain. 

Evgeni Malkin, C: Selected with the second pick of the 2004 draft. He won the Calder Trophy in 2006-07 and is an alternate captain. 

Bryan Rust, RW: Selected in the third round (No. 80) of the 2010 draft. He made his NHL debut Dec. 13, 2014, and made his Stanley Cup Playoff debut this season. 

Conor Sheary, LW: Signed to a two-year, entry-level contract July 1, 2015 after he played 58 games for the Wilkes-Barre/Scranton, the Penguins' American Hockey League affiliate, in 2014-15. He made his NHL debut Dec. 16, 2015. 

Oskar Sundqvist, C: Selected in the third round (No. 81) of the 2012 draft. Made his NHL debut Feb. 5. 
Ian Cole:
Acquired from the St. Louis Blues for defenseman Robert Bortuzzo and a seventh-round pick in the 2016 NHL Draft on March 2, 2015. 

Trevor Daley: Acquired from the Chicago Blackhawks for defenseman Rob Scuderi on Dec. 14, 2015. Daley broke his ankle against the Tampa Bay Lightning in Game 4 the Eastern Conference Final and missed the remainder of the playoffs. 

Brian Dumoulin: Acquired from the Carolina Hurricanes with forward Brandon Sutter and a first-round pick in the 2012 draft for forward Jordan Staal on June 22, 2012. 

Kris Letang: Selected in the third round (No. 62) of the 2005 draft. 

Ben Lovejoy: Acquired from the Ducks for defenseman Simon Despres on March 2, 2015. Lovejoy had played for the Penguins from 2008 until he was traded to the Ducks on Feb. 7, 2013. 

Olli Maatta: Selected with the 22nd pick of the 2012 draft. 

Derrick Pouliot: Selected with the eighth pick of the 2012 draft. The selection was acquired from the Carolina Hurricanes as part of the Staal trade on June 22, 2012. 

Justin Schultz: Acquired from the Edmonton Oilers for a third-round pick in the 2016 draft on Feb. 28. 

Marc-Andre Fleury:
Selected with the first pick of the 2003 draft. 

Matt Murray: Selected in the third round (No. 83) of the 2012 draft. He made his NHL debut Dec. 19, 2014. 

Jeff Zatkoff: Signed a two-year contract on July 1, 2012. He had spent the previous four seasons with the Los Angeles Kings organization. 

Mike Sullivan, coach:
Named coach Dec. 12, 2015, replacing Mike Johnston. He was in his first season as coach with Wilkes-Barre/Scranton, the Penguins' AHL affiliate. 

Rick Tocchet, assistant coach: Hired on June 25, 2014. Previously was coach of the Tampa Bay Lightning from 2008-10. He won the Stanley Cup as a player with the Penguins in 1992. 

Jacques Martin, assistant coach: Hired on Aug. 9, 2013. Has coaching experience with St. Louis Blues (1986-88), Ottawa Senators (1995-2004), Florida Panthers (2005-08) and Montreal Canadiens (2009-12). 

Mike Bales, goaltending coach: Hired on Aug. 9, 2013 after spending previous two seasons as Penguins goaltender development coach. 

Video: PIT@SJS, Gm6: Rutherford on additions for Cup title

Jim Rutherford: Hired on June 6, 2014 after spending 20 years as general manager of the Hartford Whalers/Carolina Hurricanes franchise. Under Rutherford the Hurricanes made two trips to the Stanley Cup Final, and won the championship in 2006. 

View More