Skip to Main Content
This Date in NHL History

June 6: Selanne, Ducks win Stanley Cup

Plus: Forsberg gets first playoff hat trick; Penguins move one victory from fourth title

by John Kreiser @jkreiser7713 / Managing Editor


2007: The Anaheim Ducks become the first West Coast NHL team to win the Stanley Cup when they close out a five-game Final against the Ottawa Senators with a 6-2 victory at Honda Center.

Travis Moen scores twice for the Ducks, who limit the Senators to 13 shots on goal against Jean-Sebastien Giguere. Defenseman Scott Niedermayer, who has an assist on Moen's second goal, is voted winner of the Conn Smythe Trophy as playoff MVP. The Ducks win it all in their 14th season in the NHL; they are the first California-based Cup-winning team and the first on the West Coast since the League exclusively begins competing for the Cup after the Western Hockey League folds in 1926.

The celebration is especially sweet for Ducks forward Teemu Selanne, who's played 1,041 regular-season games before winning a championship.

"Obviously, we had to wait a long time for something unbelievable," an emotional Selanne says. "And it really makes it even more special. To get the win in our own home building … I'm so proud of my teammates. We've been like brothers. And we have had one dream together, and that's why it's so special."

Video: 2007: Anaheim Ducks capture first Cup for California



1956: The NHL Board of Governors passes a rule allowing a player serving a minor penalty to return to the ice after a goal is scored by the opposition. Prior to the change, players must serve the full two minutes, regardless of how many goals the opposition scores.


1996: Peter Forsberg scores three goals in the first period for his first NHL playoff hat trick to power the Colorado Avalanche to an 8-1 victory against the Florida Panthers in Game 2 of the Final in Denver. The Avalanche go ahead 2-1 when Rene Corbet scores a power-play goal 10:43 into the game, and Forsberg completes his hat trick to put Colorado ahead 4-1 after one period. Joe Sakic finishes with four assists and Patrick Roy makes 27 saves. The victory gives Colorado a 2-0 lead in the best-of-7 series.


2013: Marian Hossa scores the tie-breaking goal 1:10 into the third period and the Chicago Blackhawks defeat the Los Angeles Kings 3-2 in Game 4 of the Western Conference Final at Staples Center. The Blackhawks limit the Kings to 21 shots, two in the third period, to take a 3-1 lead in the best-of-7 series.


2015: Andrei Vasilevskiy relieves Tampa Bay Lightning starter Ben Bishop twice in the third period -- once briefly and then for good with 7:41 remaining -- in a 4-3 victory against the Blackhawks in Game 2 of the Final at Amalie Arena. Defenseman Jason Garrison scores to break a 3-3 tie during Vasilevskiy's first appearance, and the goalie stops all five shots he faces. It's the fourth time in NHL history that a goalie wins a game in the Final that he doesn't start, but the first since Frank Pietrangelo of the Pittsburgh Penguins in Game 5 in 1991.


2016: The Penguins move within one victory of their first Stanley Cup championship since 2009 by defeating the San Jose Sharks 3-1 in Game 4 of the Final at SAP Center. Ian Cole, Evgeni Malkin and Eric Fehr score for the Penguins, and rookie goalie Matt Murray makes 23 saves.

Video: PIT@SJS, Gm4: Malkin tips in Kessel's shot for PPG


2019: The St. Louis Blues move within one win of their first Stanley Cup championship by defeating the Boston Bruins 2-1 at TD Garden in Game 5 of the Final. Goals by Ryan O'Reilly and David Perron put the Blues up by two goals midway through the third period, and rookie goalie Jordan Binnington (38 saves) preserves the lead despite allowing a goal by Jake DeBrusk with 6:28 remaining. The victory gives the Blues two chances at their first championship since entering the NHL in 1967.

View More