Skip to Main Content
Hall of Fame

Iginla, Hossa, Lowe lead Hockey Hall of Fame Class of 2020

Joined by Wilson, St-Pierre, Holland; induction ceremony scheduled for Nov. 16

by Dan Rosen @drosennhl / Senior Writer

Jarome Iginla, Marian Hossa, Kevin Lowe and Doug Wilson were among the five Players and one Builder elected to the Hockey Hall of Fame on Wednesday.

Also elected was Kim St-Pierre of the Canada women's national team. She will be the first female goalie inducted. Ken Holland was elected in the Builders category.

The induction ceremony is scheduled for Nov. 16 in Toronto, but the date could change depending on when the 2020-21 NHL season begins.

Iginla, a longtime Calgary Flames forward, scored 1,300 points (625 goals, 675 assists) in 1,554 games during 20 NHL seasons with the Flames, Pittsburgh Penguins, Boston Bruins, Colorado Avalanche and Los Angeles Kings. He is 14th in games played, tied for 16th in goals with Hall of Famer Joe Sakic, and ninth in game-winning goals (101). Iginla scored 68 points (37 goals, 31 assists) in 81 Stanley Cup Playoff games.

He won the Art Ross Trophy as the leading scorer and Rocket Richard Trophy as the top goal-scorer in the NHL in 2001-02, when he scored 96 points (52 goals, 44 assists). He won the Richard Trophy again in 2003-04 with 41 goals, tied for the NHL lead with Rick Nash and Ilya Kovalchuk. Iginla had 12 straight full NHL seasons with at least 30 goals from 2000-14. He won a gold medal with Canada at the 2002 Salt Lake City Olympics and 2010 Vancouver Olympics, the IIHF World Championship in 1997, the IIHF World Junior Championship in 1996, and the World Cup of Hockey in 2004.

Iginla, who was eligible for the first time, will be the fourth Black player inducted, joining Grant Fuhr, Angela James and Willie O'Ree. Iginla and Fuhr are the only Black NHL players honored for their on-ice accomplishments; O'Ree was inducted in the Builders category two years ago for breaking the NHL color barrier in 1958.

"It's extremely special," Iginla said. "I had a hard time sleeping the past few nights. Starting my career. I didn't dream of making it to the Hall of Fame. It's a true honor, I've been extremely blessed. It's still sinking in."

Video: Iginla, Hossa lead 2020 Hockey Hall of Fame Class

Hossa scored 1,134 points (525 goals, 609 assists) in 1,309 games in 19 NHL seasons with the Ottawa Senators, Atlanta Thrashers, Penguins, Detroit Red Wings and Chicago Blackhawks. The forward scored at least 30 goals eight times and at least 40 goals three times. Hossa won the Stanley Cup three times with the Blackhawks (2010, 2013, 2015) and reached the Stanley Cup Final with the Penguins in 2008 and Red Wings in 2009. He scored 149 points (52 goals, 97 assists) in 205 playoff games and is the only player to play in the Cup Final in three straight seasons with three teams. He also was eligible for the first time.

"This honor means so much to me," Hossa said. "I would like to thank everyone who voted for me. I have learned so much about life through the game of hockey and am very appreciative of this recognition."

Lowe, a defenseman, won the Stanley Cup six times and played in seven NHL All-Star Games. He scored 431 points (84 goals, 347 assists) in 1,254 regular-season games and 58 points (10 goals, 48 assists) in 214 playoff games with the Edmonton Oilers and New York Rangers. Lowe was in his 20th year of eligibility.

"I think I perhaps represent the next level of guys who helped to win championships," Lowe said. "I appreciate that my contributions to the teams I played on are being recognized in this way."

Wilson won the Norris Trophy as the best defenseman in the NHL in 1981-82, when he scored 85 points (39 goals, 46 assists) in 76 games with the Blackhawks. He is the Blackhawks leader among defensemen in goals (225), assists (554), points (779), power-play goals (80), power-play points (355), shorthanded goals (nine) and game-winning goals (22). Wilson ranks 15th among NHL defensemen with 827 points (237 goals, 590 assists) in 1,024 games with the Blackhawks and San Jose Sharks. This was his 24th year of eligibility.

"I'm not even a Hall of Famer in my own house, so joining this club means the world to me," said Wilson, the Sharks general manager. "I would like to thank all of the people who have been so good to me in this game."

St-Pierre won three women's Olympic gold medals for Canada and five Women's World Championships. She had a 1.17 goals-against average and a .939 save percentage playing for Canada. She played boys hockey until she was 18 years old, then played on the women's team at McGill University before playing in the Canadian Women's Hockey League.

"For me, it's a huge day," said St-Pierre, who will be the eighth woman inducted. "When I first found out (in 2010) that women would be inducted in the Hall of Fame with Cammi Granato and Angela James, it made it so special for me to be a women's hockey player. Now to be able to be the eighth woman to join the Hall of Fame makes it very, very special."

Holland, the GM of the Oilers, was general manager of the Red Wings from 1997-2019. They won the Stanley Cup three times in that span (1998, 2002, 2008); Holland was assistant GM when they won it in 1997. While he was GM of Detroit, it won more combined regular-season and playoff games than any NHL team (1,044). He ranks fifth in NHL history with 962 regular-season wins as GM.

"I am incredibly humbled by this honor," Holland said. "I am in this game because I loved it as a young man and I am happy to have been able to stay in the game."

The 18-member selection committee voted remotely for the first time due to concerns surrounding the coronavirus. Voting results are not released.

View More