Skip to Main Content

Landeskog takes blame for offside that costs Avalanche in Game 7

'Clumsy mistake' nullifies tying goal against Sharks

by Tim Campbell @TimNHL / Staff Writer

SAN JOSE -- Gabriel Landeskog took the blame for an offside that nullified a Colorado Avalanche goal that would have tied Game 7 of the Western Conference Second Round against the San Jose Sharks at SAP Center on Wednesday.

San Jose won 3-2 to advance to the conference final against the St. Louis Blues.

The Avalanche appeared to tie the game 2-2 when Colin Wilson scored at 7:49 of the second period, but Sharks coach Peter DeBoer challenged for offside. Upon video review, Landeskog was ruled offside at the Colorado bench just before he left the ice on a change and the puck entered the San Jose zone. 


[RELATED: Complete Sharks vs. Avalanche series coverage]


"I'm going to take blame for that because I could have done a lot of things different," the Avalanche captain said. "Ultimately my skates were on the ice.

"It's a clumsy mistake, you know. Get off the ice."

After consulting with linesmen Derek Amell and Scott Cherrey, the Situation Room determined that Landeskog did not legally tag up at the blue line before the puck entered the zone.

"I wish I first of all didn't turn the puck over just inside the blue line," Landeskog said, "but then again, if I didn't turn it over, then [Nathan MacKinnon] wouldn't have gotten that chance [and passed it] over to [Wilson]. If I could have done something different on that play, I would have jumped the boards a lot quicker."

Video: Situation Room: Wilson's goal overturned after review

He said he was certain the Avalanche had tied the game after trailing 2-0 in the first period.

"I was just as surprised as anybody," he said of the goal being overturned. "I came off, and all of a sudden two seconds later we score. I didn't think anything of it, to be honest with you. And then we were wondering why they didn't drop the puck.

"Obviously I was still on the ice. We saw some replays on the bench and from what we saw it could have gone either way."

Avalanche coach Jared Bednar said the call was a rare occurrence.

"In a Game 7, even more so," he said. "It just doesn't have a big effect on ... that player has nothing to do with the play that's going on. It seems like such a minute detail, whether he's onside or offside. So it's strange. It's something we could have done without tonight, no question."

Video: Pavelski helps Sharks advance to WCF with Game 7 win

DeBoer said video coach Dan Darrow gets most of the credit for spotting the infraction. An incorrect challenge would have given Colorado a power play with the game tied.

"Tough call because if you are wrong it's a [delay-of-game] penalty, but it was a game-changing call, and we've had those go against us this year at different points," DeBoer said. "It was a huge call and a gutsy call by a video coach ... who gets big props for that.

"Dan is the lead on that. We get some other opinions on it, but Dan was the lead tonight on it. He's the lead on it almost every night. [Gutsy] call."


Listen: New episode of NHL Fantasy on Ice podcast

View More

The NHL has updated its Privacy Policy effective January 16, 2020. We encourage you to review it carefully.

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.