Skip to Main Content
Norris Trophy

Norris Trophy winner to be announced

Fox, Hedman, Makar up for award given to top NHL defenseman

by David Satriano @davidsatriano / Staff Writer

2020-21 Norris Trophy Finalists

Norris Trophy finalists announced

Adam Fox, Victor Hedman and Cale Makar have been named finalists for the Norris Trophy

  • 02:54 •

Winners of the 2021 NHL Awards presented by Bridgestone will be announced throughout the Stanley Cup Semifinals and Stanley Cup Final.

The winner of the Norris Trophy will be announced Tuesday during a 30-minute show (7:30 p.m. ET; NBCSN, SN, TVAS) in which the five remaining regular-season trophies will be awarded.

Here is a look at the three finalists:  

Adam Fox, Victor Hedman and Cale Makar were named finalists for the Norris Trophy.

The award is given annually to the defenseman voted to have demonstrated throughout the season the greatest all-around ability at the position as voted on by the Professional Hockey Writers Association.

Fox finished second among defensemen with 47 points (five goals, 42 assists), one point behind Tyson Barrie of the Edmonton Oilers, and was plus-19 in 55 games. He led the New York Rangers in average ice time per game (24:42), more than three minutes per game more than defenseman Jacob Trouba, who was second (21:29). He led Rangers defensemen in power-play ice time per game (3:45) and shorthanded ice time per game (2:36).

A first-time finalist, Fox scored 23 power-play points, second at the position behind Hedman (24) and had 102 blocked shots (tied for 15th) and 38 takeaways (third). He would be the first Rangers player to win the award since Brian Leetch in 1996-97.

Makar, who won the Calder Trophy voted as the top rookie in the NHL last season, scored 44 points (eight goals, 36 assists) in 44 games for the Colorado Avalanche this season and led defenseman with an average of 1.00 points per game (minimum 10 games). He tied for the lead at the position in game-winning goals (three) and was fourth in power-play points (22). Makar finished second on the Avalanche in ice time per game (24:19) behind defenseman Devon Toews (24:46) and tied for first in takeaways (32) with Toews and forward Mikko Rantanen.

"Obviously I'm very honored to be recognized as a finalist for that award," Makar said. "To be completely honest with you, it's not something that's at the forefront of my mind right now."

A first-time finalist, Makar helped Colorado finish with the best record in the regular season (39-13-4) and win the Presidents' Trophy. He would be the first Avalanche/Quebec Nordiques player to win the award.

"I think it's definitely earned," Avalanche coach Jared Bednar said. "I think the jump in his game has been on the defensive side of it. He's always been able to produce on the offensive side, drives the play from the back end whether he's leading the rush or joining it. He's been a more consistent defender and a heavier defender for us this year, and playing in more situations, including a little bit of time on the penalty kill. He's developed into a real good, all-around player as a defenseman. I think it's well deserved."

Hedman tied for third among defensemen with 45 points (nine goals, 36 assists), was plus-5 in 54 games and led the position with 24 power-play points. He ranked seventh in the NHL in average ice time per game (25:03), led the Tampa Bay Lightning in total time on ice (1,352:26), and led Lightning defensemen in power-play ice time per game (3:20) and was third in shorthanded ice time per game (2:23). He helped Tampa Bay rank sixth in goals against per game (2.59), fourth on the penalty kill (84.2 percent) and ninth on the power play (22.2 percent).

A finalist for the fifth straight season, Hedman won the award in 2017-18 and finished third each of the past two seasons. He helped the Lightning (36-17-3) qualify for the playoffs for the seventh time in eight seasons.

Nashville Predators defenseman Roman Josi won the Norris Trophy last season. independent correspondent Rick Sadowski contributed to this report

View More