Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Minnesota Wild

Wild to Host 2017 USA Hockey Sled Classic

Presented by NHL, eighth annual event to be held Nov. 16-19 at Plymouth Ice Center

by Minnesota Wild @mnwild /

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colorado -- USA Hockey announced today that the Minnesota Wild and Minnesota Hockey will host the eighth annual USA Hockey Sled Classic, presented by the NHL. The four-day event will take place Nov. 16-19, 2017, at the Plymouth Ice Center in Plymouth, Minnesota. The Minnesota Wild, Minnesota Hockey, Minnesota Wild Sled Hockey, and Wayzata Youth Hockey Association are teaming up at all levels to come together and host this exciting event.

First staged in 2010, the USA Hockey Sled Classic is an annual round-robin format tournament between sled hockey teams associated with certain NHL clubs.

Over 20 NHL sled teams are expected to play in this year's tournament and will feature five divisions. Last year, the event featured a record 24 teams that competed in five divisions. The Colorado Avalanche program claimed both the Tier I and Tier IV divisions while the Pittsburgh Penguins were crowned Tier II champions, the Nashville Predators won the Tier III division and the Carolina Hurricanes claimed the Tier V division.

Full details surrounding the tournament will be released at a later date. For more information on the sport of sled hockey and to view a list of sled hockey teams in the U.S., click here.

View More