Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Minnesota Wild

Wild Protects 11 Players for Expansion Draft

Seven forwards, three defensemen and one goaltender among those made unavailable to Vegas Golden Knights

by Minnesota Wild @mnwild /

ST. PAUL -- Minnesota Wild General Manager Chuck Fletcher today announced the National Hockey League club has protected seven forwards, three defensemen and one goaltender for the NHL Expansion Draft. The following players were protected for the NHL Expansion Draft:

• Goaltender - Devan Dubnyk  
• Defensemen - Jonas Brodin, Jared Spurgeon and Ryan Suter
• Forwards - Charlie Coyle, Mikael Granlund, Mikko Koivu, Nino Niederreiter, Zach Parise, Jason Pominville and Jason Zucker

The NHL Awards Show and Expansion Draft will air live on NBC Sports Network on Wednesday, June 21 at 7 p.m. CT. Minnesota Wild forward Mikael Granlund is a finalist for the Lady Byng Trophy and captain Mikko Koivu is a finalist for the Frank J. Selke Trophy.

All players who have currently effective and continuing "No Movement" clauses at the time of the Expansion Draft (and who decline to waive such clauses) must be protected. All first- and second-year professionals, as well as all unsigned draft choices, are exempt from selection.

The Vegas Golden Knights must select one player from each team for a total of 30 players. Vegas must select the following number of players at each position: 14 forwards, nine defensemen and three goaltenders and must select a minimum of 20 players who are under contract for the 2017-18 season.

View More