Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the San Jose Sharks

Kevin Labanc Voted SAP "Sharks Rookie of the Year"

by San Jose Sharks @SanJoseSharks /

SAN JOSE, CA - The San Jose Sharks (@SanJoseSharks) announced today that forward Kevin Labanc (@Str8ToTheBanc) has been selected as this year's SAP "Sharks Rookie of the Year" in a vote by Bay Area media. Labanc will be recognized in a video presentation during tonight's game against the Calgary Flames at SAP Center at San Jose (@SAPCenter). 

Labanc has recorded 20 points (8 goals, 12 assists) and a plus-10 rating in 54 games with San Jose this season. He leads the Sharks rookies in each of those categories, and his plus-10 rating is fifth-best on the team. Labanc currently ranks in the top-30 in goals, assists and points among NHL rookies, and is tied for seventh in the league among rookies in plus/minus. In addition, six of Labanc's eight goals have been lead changing (either tied the game or gave the Sharks the lead). 

The 21-year old rookie made his NHL debut on Nov. 8 at Washington. His first point came on Nov. 17 with a goal at St. Louis. Perhaps the highlight of Labanc's season came on Dec. 23 vs. division-rival Edmonton where he scored twice, including the overtime game-winner. 

Labanc became the first player drafted in the sixth round from his 2014 NHL Draft class to appear in an NHL contest, and the third player drafted after the third round of his draft class to score an NHL tally. He currently has the second-most goals, assists, points and games played of any player drafted after the third round of the 2014 NHL Draft. 

The five-foot-eleven, 185-pound native of Brooklyn, NY was drafted by Sharks in the sixth round (171st overall) of the 2014 NHL Draft. 

2015-16 Joonas Donskoi 
2014-15 Melker Karlsson 
2013-14 Matt Nieto & Tomas Hertl 
2012-13 Matt Irwin 
2011-12 Andrew Desjardins 
2010-11 Logan Couture 
2009-10 Jason Demers 
2008-09 Tomas Plihal 
2007-08 Torrey Mitchell 
2006-07 Marc-Edouard Vlasic 
2005-06 Milan Michalek 
2003-04 Tom Preissing 
2002-03 Jim Fahey 
2001-02 Matt Bradley 
2000-01 Evgeni Nabokov 
1999-00 Brad Stuart 
1998-99 Alexander Korolyuk 
1997-98 Patrick Marleau, Marco Sturm, Andrei Zyuzin 
1996-97 Stephen Guolla 
1995-96 Marcus Ragnarsson 
1994-95 Jeff Friesen 

View More