Skip to main content
This Date in NHL History

April 14: Canadiens win Stanley Cup for fifth straight year

Plus: Rangers win championship in second NHL season; Penguins see winning streak end at 17

by John Kreiser @jkreiser7713 / Managing Editor


1960: The Montreal Canadiens become the only team in NHL history to win the Stanley Cup five years in a row when they complete a four-game sweep in the Final with a 4-0 victory against the Toronto Maple Leafs at Maple Leaf Gardens. Jean Beliveau scores twice and Jacques Plante makes 30 saves for his 10th playoff shutout. The Canadiens win the Cup in the minimum eight games, having swept the Boston Bruins in the Semifinals.

In what turns out to be the final game of his NHL career, 39-year-old Maurice Richard has an assist on younger brother Henri Richard's second-period goal for his 126th and final Stanley Cup Playoff point. He retires before the next season and is inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame in 1961 after the Hall waives the customary three-year waiting period.

Video: Memories: Canadiens win fifth consecutive Cup



1928: The New York Rangers, playing their second season in the NHL, win the Stanley Cup with a 2-1 victory against the Montreal Maroons at the Forum in the deciding game of the best-of-5 Final. Center Frank Boucher scores twice for the Rangers, who have to play all five games on the road because Madison Square Garden is not available. New York overcomes a 2-1 series deficit by winning Games 4 and 5 to become the second U.S.-based team (along with the 1917 Seattle Metropolitans of the Pacific Coast Hockey Association) to win the Cup.


1942: The Toronto Maple Leafs tie a Stanley Cup Final single-game record for goals by defeating the Detroit Red Wings 9-3 in Game 5 at Maple Leaf Gardens. Forward Don Metz, inserted into the lineup after Toronto loses the first three games, scores three goals and finishes with five points. Center Syl Apps scores two goals and sets up three others. Toronto blows the game open with five unanswered goals in the second period.


1955: The Red Wings defeat the Canadiens 3-1 in Game 7 of the Final at the Olympia to win the Stanley Cup for the second straight season and the fourth time in six seasons. Alex Delvecchio opens the scoring 7:12 into the second period and gives Detroit a 3-0 lead with an unassisted goal at 2:59 of the third. It's the last championship for Detroit until 1997. It's also the final game refereed by Bill Chadwick, who is inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame nine years later.


1993: The longest winning streak in NHL history ends when the Pittsburgh Penguins play to a 6-6 season-ending tie against the New Jersey Devils in East Rutherford, New Jersey. The tie ends the Penguins' streak of 17 consecutive victories, two more than the mark set by the 1981-82 New York Islanders. Joe Mullen gives the Penguins five more minutes to try to extend the record when he scores the tying goal with 1:06 remaining in the third period, but they can't beat Devils goalie Craig Billington in overtime Mario Lemieux has two goals and an assist for the two-time defending Stanley Cup champions and finishes with a League-leading 160 points in 60 games.


1996: Detroit wraps up the winningest season in NHL history with a 5-1 road victory against the Dallas Stars. Chris Osgood makes 21 saves and Vyacheslav Kozlov scores twice for the Red Wings, who finish the season with 62 wins(in 82 games), two more than the 1976-77 Montreal Canadiens (60 in 80 games).


2003: Patrick Roy of the Colorado Avalanche becomes the first goaltender in NHL history with 150 playoff wins. He reaches the milestone by making 18 saves in a 3-0 victory against the Minnesota Wild at Xcel Energy Center in Game 3 of the Western Conference Quarterfinals. It's Roy's 23rd and final playoff shutout.


2004: Nikolai Khabibulin of the Tampa Bay Lightning gets his second consecutive shutout and ties a Stanley Cup Playoff record with his third of the series in a 3-0 victory against the New York Islanders at Nassau Coliseum in Game 4 of the Eastern Conference Quarterfinals. Each of the first four games ends 3-0; the Lightning win 3-2 in Game 5 to close out the series.


2017: The Edmonton Oilers win a playoff game for the first time in 11 years when they defeat the San Jose Sharks 2-0 in Game 2 of the Western Conference First Round. Cam Talbot makes 16 saves for the Oilers, who win in the postseason for the first time since defeating the Carolina Hurricanes 4-0 in Game 6 of the 2006 Cup Final.


2018: David Pastrnak (21 years, 324 days) of the Boston Bruins becomes the youngest player in NHL history to have at least six points in a playoff game. Pastrnak scores three goals and has three assists in a 7-3 victory against the Toronto Maple Leafs at TD Garden in Game 2 of the Eastern Conference First Round. Pastrnak surpasses the previous mark set by Wayne Gretzky of the Edmonton Oilers, who is 22 years, 81 days old when he has seven points (four goals, three assists) in a 10-2 win in Game 3 of the 1983 Smythe Division Final.

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.