Skip to Main Content
NHL Awards

Jim Gregory General Manager of the Year Winners

Award has been presented since 2010 @NHLdotcom

An annual award presented to recognize the work of the top general manager in the NHL.

Voting is conducted among the 31 team general managers and a panel of five NHL executives and five media members at the conclusion of the regular season.

The award was first presented in 2010 to Phoenix Coyotes GM Don Maloney. It was renamed the Jim Gregory General Manager of the Year Award during the 2019-20 season to honor the longtime NHL executive. Lou Lamoriello became the first two-time winner when he won the award for a second conseutive season with the New York Islanders for 2020-21.


[RELATED: Complete list of NHL Awards and Trophies winners]


Video: Lou Lamoriello wins Jim Gregory GM of the Year Award


Jim Gregory General Manager of the Year Winners
  • 2021: Lou Lamoriello, New York Islanders
  • 2020: Lou Lamoriello, New York Islanders
  • 2019: Don Sweeney, Boston Bruins
  • 2018: George McPhee, Vegas Golden Knights
  • 2017: David Poile, Nashville Predators
  • 2016: Jim Rutherford, Pittsburgh Penguins
  • 2015: Steve Yzerman, Tampa Bay Lightning
  • 2014: Bob Murray, Anaheim Ducks
  • 2013: Ray Shero, Pittsburgh Penguins
  • 2012: Doug Armstrong, St. Louis Blues
  • 2011: Mike Gillis, Vancouver Canucks
  • 2010: Don Maloney, Phoenix Coyotes
View More

The NHL has updated its Privacy Policy effective January 16, 2020. We encourage you to review it carefully.

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.