Skip to Main Content
Frank J. Selke Trophy

O'Reilly of Blues wins Selke Trophy

Best defensive forward led NHL in face-off wins, was fourth in takeaways, plus-22 @NHLdotcom

LAS VEGAS -- Ryan O'Reilly of the St. Louis Blues won the Selke Trophy as the best defensive forward in the NHL at the 2019 NHL Awards presented by Bridgestone on Wednesday.

O'Reilly led the NHL in face-off wins for the second straight season (1,086), was fourth in shorthanded face-off wins (121) and eighth in face-off winning percentage among those to take at least 450 (56.9 percent).

"It's obviously a huge honor," O'Reilly said. "Seeing the names that are on that are guys I've always admired, and to be one of them and to be on that, it's amazing. It's a great cap off to that amazing week. Yeah, it's crazy. It's great. I'm just kind of overwhelmed with everything that's been going on. But it is an honor to be on that, because it's guys that I wanted to be."

Video: Ryan O'Reilly awarded Frank J. Selke Trophy

The center led the Blues with NHL career highs in assists (49), points (77) and points per game (0.94) playing all 82 games, and he was second with 28 goals. O'Reilly ranked first among Blues forwards in average ice time (20:46) and was fourth in the NHL with 94 takeaways. His plus-22 rating was tied for seventh among NHL players who had at least 75 points.

O'Reilly had 23 points (eight goals, 15 assists) in 26 Stanley Cup Playoff games and was awarded the Conn Smythe Trophy as postseason MVP with the Blues, who won the Stanley Cup for the first time, defeating the Boston Bruins in the Cup Final in seven games.

He is the second Blues player to win the Selke (Rick Meagher, 1989-90), which is voted on by the Professional Hockey Writers' Association at the end of the regular season.

"He came as advertised. He's a great two-way player," St. Louis general manager Doug Armstrong said. "The number of face-offs he takes for us, he touches every point of our offensive and defensive game. He was a guy that like all great leaders, he led by example during the bad times and tough times, and then obviously when the going was the hardest in the playoffs, he was our leader and our best player."

The other finalists were four-time winner Patrice Bergeron of the Boston Bruins, who was eighth in the NHL this season in face-off winning percentage (56.6 percent, minimum 750 attempts), and Mark Stone of the Vegas Golden Knights, who led the NHL in takeaways (122 in 77 games).

Bergeron, a finalist for an eighth straight season, failed to win the Selke for a fifth time, which would be the NHL record.

"I remember when I first saw him break in the League and saw the player he was. He was someone I looked up to as someone I wanted to be," O'Reilly said of Bergeron. "Watching him throughout the years and how he impacts the game in every sort of fashion, everything he does, you learn from that. For myself, you try to take stuff that he does and try to carry it over. It's guys like that that it's impressive my name alongside on the trophy."


[RELATED: NHL Awards results | Complete NHL Awards coverage]


2018-19 Frank Selke Trophy voting

Points   (1st-2nd-3rd-4th-5th)
1. Ryan O'Reilly, STL   1001   (48-43-31-18-11)
2. Mark Stone, VGK   881   (42-34-31-19-11)
3. Patrice Bergeron, BOS   809   (31-27-39-32-19)
4. Sidney Crosby, PIT   736   (34-30-23-18-17)
5. Aleksander Barkov, FLA   401   (9-18-16-27-24)
6. Sean Couturier, PHI   194   (2-8-11-13-24)
7. Phillip Danault, MTL   80   (1-1-3-11-15)
8. Mikael Backlund, CGY   66   (1-2-3-6-9)
9. Brayden Point, TBL   56   (1-2-3-4-5)
10. Elias Lindholm, CGY   56   (0-4-4-1-5)
11. Anthony Cirelli, TBL   30   (1-1-1-2-2)
12. Sebastian Aho, CAR   25   (0-0-1-4-8)
13. Nick Bonino, NSH   19   (1-0-1-1-1)
14. Mitchell Marner, TOR   11   (0-0-1-1-3)
15. Jonathan Toews, CHI   11   (0-0-0-2-5)
16. Brad Marchand, BOS   9   (0-0-0-3-0)
17. William Karlsson, VGK   8   (0-0-1-1-0)
18. Mathew Barzal, NYI   7   (0-1-0-0-0)
19. John Tavares, TOR   7   (0-0-0-2-1)
20. Dylan Larkin, DET   6   (0-0-1-0-1)
21. Casey Cizikas, NYI   6   (0-0-0-1-3)
22. Jordan Staal, CAR   5   (0-0-1-0-0)
23. Gabriel Landeskog, COL   4   (0-0-0-1-1)
t-24. Radek Faksa, DAL   3   (0-0-0-1-0)
t-24. Marcus Foligno, MIN   3   (0-0-0-1-0)
t-24. Carl Soderberg, COL   3   (0-0-0-1-0)
t-24. Teuvo Teravainen, CAR   3   (0-0-0-1-0)
28. Logan Couture, SJS   2   (0-0-0-0-2)
t-29. Brad Richardson, ARI   1   (0-0-0-0-1)
t-29. Derek Ryan, CGY   1   (0-0-0-0-1)
t-29. Brandon Tanev, WPG   1   (0-0-0-0-1)
t-29. Travis Zajac, NJD   1   (0-0-0-0-1)

View More

The NHL has updated its Privacy Policy effective January 16, 2020. We encourage you to review it carefully.

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.