Skip to main content
Ted Lindsay Award

Benn, Holtby, Kane named Ted Lindsay Award finalists

Winner to be announced at 2016 NHL Awards in Las Vegas on June 22

by @NHL

Dallas Stars forward Jamie Benn, Washington Capitals goalie Braden Holtby and Chicago Blackhawks forward Patrick Kane were announced as finalists for the Ted Lindsay Award.

The trophy is presented to the most outstanding player in the NHL as voted by members of the National Hockey League Players' Association. The winner will be announced at the 2016 NHL Awards at the Hard Rock Hotel & Casino in Las Vegas on June 22. 

Benn was second in the League with 89 points and third with 41 goals, both personal NHL bests. His 1.09 points-per-game average was second in the League. He also averaged 20:01 of ice time per game and helped the Stars to the Central Division title and the best record in the Western Conference. 

Video: Breaking down the Finalists for the Ted Lindsey Award

The Stars captain is a Lindsay Award finalist for the second straight season. No Stars player has won the award. 

Holtby tied the NHL single-season record with 48 wins while helping the Capitals to the Presidents' Trophy. Among goalies to play at least 30 games during the regular season, he was fifth with a 2.20 goals-against average and eighth with a .922 save percentage. Holtby, a first-time Lindsay Award finalist, is also a finalist for the Vezina Trophy, awarded to the League's best goaltender.

Kane led the League with 106 points and was second with 46 goals, both personal NHL bests. He's the first American-born player to win the Art Ross Trophy. Kane had a 26-game point streak, the longest by an American-born NHL player and longest in Blackhawks history. He led the League in points per game (1.29) and power-play points (37), while helping the Blackhawks qualify for the Stanley Cup Playoffs for the eighth straight season. 

No Blackhawks player, and no American-born player, has won the Lindsay Award, which first was presented in 1971 as the Lester B. Pearson Award.

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.