Skip to Main Content

2022 NHL All-Star Game rosters, captains announced

Kaprizov, Fox, Makar lead 18 first-time selections; will be played in Las Vegas on Feb. 5

by David Satriano @davidsatriano / Staff Writer

Kirill Kaprizov, Adam Fox and Cale Makar are among 20 first-time selections for the 2022 Honda NHL All-Star Game at T-Mobile Arena in Las Vegas on Feb. 5.

Kaprizov, a forward (Minnesota Wild), and defensemen Fox (New York Rangers) and Makar (Colorado Avalanche) were among 36 players selected by the NHL Hockey Operations Department on Jan. 13 to represent their respective divisions.

"It's a lot of fun for me, a lot of fun for all the players that get to participate," Kaprizov said. "It's a good time. We get to hang out with all the other players. For me personally, it's my first time here in the NHL, and so it's a great honor and I'm looking forward to it." 

Washington Capitals forward Alex Ovechkin (Metropolitan Division), Toronto Maple Leafs forward Auston Matthews (Atlantic Division), Avalanche forward Nathan MacKinnon (Central Division) and Edmonton Oilers forward Connor McDavid (Pacific Division) were named captains following the 2022 NHL All-Star Fan Vote.

"Thank you very much, fans," Ovechkin said. "Obviously, it's a huge honor for me to get that captaincy and it shows respect from the fans. Obviously, it's a huge honor, a huge privilege and it's going to be fun."

The Last Men In for each division, as decided by a fan vote, were named on Tuesday. Nazem Kadri of the Avalanche, Steven Stamkos of the Tampa Bay Lightning, Troy Terry of the Anaheim Ducks and Jake Guentzel of the Pittsburgh Penguins were added to the rosters for their respective divisions. Guentzel will play in place of Rangers forward Mika Zibanejad, who won the fan vote but can't play in the All-Star Game because of personal reasons. 


[RELATED: More 2022 Honda NHL All-Star Weekend coverage]


"It means a lot to be recognized and get the support from the fans, obviously Leafs Nation," Matthews told ESPN. "… I'm really looking forward to Vegas."

Ovechkin will be making his eighth appearance, the most among players chosen. McDavid will be making his fifth appearance, and Matthews and MacKinnon will each be there for the fourth time.

"Obviously, it's a privilege," Ovechkin said. "It doesn't matter if you are voted by the fans or the League selects you. It's a privilege. It's representing your team, yourself and, obviously, have fun with the best players out there on the ice. It's a pretty cool moment."

Forward Mark Stone and defenseman Alex Pietrangelo will represent the host Vegas Golden Knights in the Pacific Division. It will be the first All-Star Game for Stone and third for Pietrangelo (2018, 2020 with the St. Louis Blues).

Seattle Kraken forward Jordan Eberle was named the first All-Star from the expansion team. He played in the 2012 game representing the Oilers.

"It's a huge honor being selected as the Kraken's first-ever All-Star," Eberle said. "Our fans have been so amazing this season. Climate Pledge Arena has been one of the loudest buildings in the League. Their support means so much. I'm excited to represent them in Vegas."

Eleven of the top 14 players in the NHL in points as of Tuesday were scheduled to play in the game: Ovechkin (54), Oilers forward Leon Draisaitl (54), McDavid (53), Florida Panthers forward Jonathan Huberdeau (53), Kadri (49), Stamkos (46), San Jose Sharks forward Timo Meier (45), Kaprizov (44), Lightning defenseman Victor Hedman (40), MacKinnon (40) and Matthews (40).

The Avalanche (Kadri, MacKinnon, Makar) and the Lightning (Stamkos, Hedman, goalie Andrei Vasilevskiy) will each have three players in the game. In addition to the Golden Knights, five other teams had two players selected: the Hurricanes (forward Sebastian Aho, goalie Frederik Andersen) and the Rangers (Fox, forward Chris Kreider) in the Metropolitan; the Maple Leafs (Matthews, goalie Jack Campbell) in the Atlantic; the Wild (Kaprizov, goalie Cam Talbot) in the Central; and the Oilers (McDavid, Draisaitl) in the Pacific.

"Obviously it's a great experience and it's especially a great city, Vegas," Vasilevskiy said. "…It's the perfect city for the All-Star Game. I'm looking forward to it. …. me and Victor and I'm hoping [Steven Stamkos] will join us too (Last Men In vote). It's a good experience to meet with all the best players around the League and have fun together."

Rod Brind'Amour of the Hurricanes (Metropolitan), Andrew Brunette of the Panthers (Atlantic), Jared Bednar of the Avalanche (Central) and Peter DeBoer of the Golden Knights (Pacific) were named coaches for their respective divisions Tuesday.

The All-Star Game will feature a three-game tournament, played in a 3-on-3 format, showcasing teams from each NHL division. Each of the four teams will include nine skaters and two goalies.

The 2022 NHL All-Stars Skills presented by DraftKings Sportsbook will take place on Feb. 4 (7:30 p.m. ET; ESPN, SN, TVAS).

Here are the rosters:


Metropolitan Division (All-Star appearances)

F Sebastian Aho, CAR (2nd)

F Claude Giroux, PHI (7th)

F Jake Guentzel, PIT (1st)

F Jack Hughes, NJD (1st)

F Chris Kreider, NYR (2nd)

F Alex Ovechkin, WSH (8th)*

D Adam Fox, NYR (1st)

D Adam Pelech, NYI (1st)

D Zach Werenski, CBJ (2nd)

G Frederik Andersen, CAR (2nd)

G Tristan Jarry, PIT (2nd)


Atlantic Division (All-Star appearances)

F Drake Batherson, OTT (1st)

F Patrice Bergeron, BOS (3rd)

F Jonathan Huberdeau, FLA (2nd)

F Dylan Larkin, DET (2nd)

F Auston Matthews, TOR (4th)*

F Steven Stamkos, TBL (7th)

F Nick Suzuki, MTL (1st)

D Rasmus Dahlin, BUF (1st)

D Victor Hedman, TBL (3rd)

G Jack Campbell, TOR (1st)

G Andrei Vasilevskiy, TBL (4th)


Central Division (All-Star appearances)

F Kyle Connor, WPG (1st)

F Alex DeBrincat, CHI (1st)

F Nazem Kadri, COL (1st) 

F Kirill Kaprizov, MIN (1st)

F Clayton Keller, ARI (2nd)

F Jordan Kyrou, STL (1st)

F Nathan MacKinnon, COL (4th)*

F Joe Pavelski, DAL (4th)

D Cale Makar, COL (1st)

G Juuse Saros, NSH (1st)

G Cam Talbot, MIN (1st)


Pacific Division (All-Star appearances)

F Leon Draisaitl, EDM (3rd)

F Jordan Eberle, SEA (2nd)

F Johnny Gaudreau, CGY (6th)

F Adrian Kempe, LAK (1st)

F Connor McDavid, EDM (5th)*

F Timo Meier, SJS (1st)

F Mark Stone, VGK (1st)

F Troy Terry, ANA (1st) 

D Alex Pietrangelo, VGK (3rd)

G John Gibson, ANA (3rd)

G Thatcher Demko, VAN (1st)

* Fan-elected captain

View More

The NHL has updated its Privacy Policy effective January 16, 2020. We encourage you to review it carefully.

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.