Skip to Main Content
Masterton Trophy

Masterton Trophy winner to be announced before Game 2 of Semifinals

Dumba, Lindblom, Marleau in running for award honoring perseverance, dedication to hockey

by David Satriano @davidsatriano / Staff Writer

Winners of the 2021 NHL Awards presented by Bridgestone will be announced throughout the Stanley Cup Semifinals and Stanley Cup Final.

The winner of the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy will be revealed Tuesday by NBCSN, CBC, Sportsnet and TVA Sports during Game 2 of the Semifinals between the New York Islanders and Tampa Bay Lightning. The game starts at 8 p.m. ET.

Here is a look at the three finalists:  

Matt Dumba, Oskar Lindblom and Patrick Marleau were named finalists for the Masterton Trophy.

The award, voted on by members of the Professional Hockey Writers Association, is presented annually to the NHL player voted to best exemplify the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship, and dedication to hockey. The winner will be announced as part of the 2021 NHL Awards presented by Bridgestone on June 15.

Dumba, who won the King Clancy Trophy last season for his humanitarian efforts in his community, cofounded the Hockey Diversity Alliance and spoke out against racism and intolerance in hockey. The Minnesota Wild defenseman hosted the inaugural Matt Dumba Hockey Without Limits camp in February, which aimed to promote inclusion and diversity at the grassroots level.

A first-time finalist, Dumba scored 21 points (six goals, 15 assists) in 51 games and helped Minnesota (35-16-5) to a berth in the Stanley Cup Playoffs for the sixth time in seven seasons. He would be the first Wild player to win the award since goalie Josh Harding in 2012-13.

Lindblom was diagnosed with Ewing's sarcoma, a rare form of bone cancer, on Dec. 13, 2019. At the time of his diagnosis, the forward had 18 points in 30 games and was tied with forward Travis Konecny for the lead on the Philadelphia Flyers with 11 goals. On July 2, Lindblom rang a ceremonial bell at Abramson Cancer Center at the Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia to signify the end of his cancer treatments. Three months later, he returned and played two games in the Stanley Cup Playoffs against the New York Islanders.

Lindblom, who was a finalist for the award last season, scored 14 points (eight goals, six assists) in 50 games this season and was again declared cancer-free following a scan in March. He would be the first Flyers player to win the award since forward Ian Laperriere in 2010-11.

Marleau became the NHL's all-time leader in games played (1,768) on April 19 when he broke the record held by Gordie Howe since Nov. 26, 1961. The 41-year-old San Jose Sharks forward has played in 910 consecutive games, the fourth-longest streak in NHL history.

A first-time finalist, Marleau scored nine points (four goals, five assists) and averaged 13:17 of ice time in 56 games, and finished his 23rd NHL season ranked 23rd all-time in goals (566) and 50th in points (1,197). He would be the first Sharks player to win the award since forward Tony Granato in 1996-97.

Forward Bobby Ryan, then with the Ottawa Senators, won the Masterton Trophy last season.

View More