Skip to Main Content
NHL Awards

NHL Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy Winners

Awarded since 1968 to player best exemplifying perseverance, sportsmanship, dedication to hockey @NHLdotcom

The Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy is an annual award under the trusteeship of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association and is given "to the National Hockey League player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship, and dedication to hockey."

The winner is selected in a poll of all chapters of the PHWA at the end of the regular season.

A grant from the PHWA is awarded annually to the Bill Masterton Scholarship Fund, based in Bloomington, Minnesota, in the name of the Masterton Trophy winner.

The trophy was presented by the NHL Writers' Association in 1968 to commemorate the late Bill Masterton, a player for the Minnesota North Stars who exhibited, to a high degree, the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey. Masterton died on Jan. 15, 1968, after an injury sustained during a game.

The trophy was first awarded following the 1967-68 season. Players from the Montreal Canadiens and New York Rangers have won five times; the Boston Bruins are next with four.


[RELATED: Complete list of NHL Awards and Trophies winners]


Video: LaFontaine presents Ryan with Masterton Trophy


Bill Masterson Memorial Trophy Winners
  • 2020: Bobby Ryan, Ottawa Senators
  • 2019: Robin Lehner, New York Islanders
  • 2018: Brian Boyle , New Jersey Devils
  • 2017: Craig Anderson , Ottawa Senators
  • 2016: Jaromir Jagr, Florida Panthers
  • 2015: Devan Dubnyk , Minnesota Wild
  • 2014: Dominic Moore, New York Rangers
  • 2013: Josh Harding, Minnesota Wild
  • 2012: Max Pacioretty , Montreal Canadiens
  • 2011: Ian Laperriere, Philadelphia Flyers
  • 2010: Jose Theodore, Washington Capitals
  • 2009: Steve Sullivan, Nashville Predators
  • 2008: Jason Blake, Toronto Maple Leafs
  • 2007: Phil Kessel , Boston Bruins
  • 2006: Teemu Selanne, Mighty Ducks of Anaheim
  • 2004: Bryan Berard, Chicago Blackhawks
  • 2003: Steve Yzerman, Detroit Red Wings
  • 2002: Saku Koivu, Montreal Canadiens
  • 2001: Adam Graves, New York Rangers
  • 2000: Ken Daneyko, New Jersey Devils
  • 1999: John Cullen, Tampa Bay Lightning
  • 1998: Jamie McLennan, St. Louis Blues
  • 1997: Tony Granato, San Jose Sharks
  • 1996: Gary Roberts, Calgary Flames
  • 1995: Pat LaFontaine, Buffalo Sabres
  • 1994: Cam Neely, Boston Bruins
  • 1993: Mario Lemieux, Pittsburgh Penguins
  • 1992: Mark Fitzpatrick, New York Islanders
  • 1991: Dave Taylor, Los Angeles Kings
  • 1990: Gord Kluzak, Boston Bruins
  • 1989: Tim Kerr, Philadelphia Flyers
  • 1988: Bob Bourne, Los Angeles Kings
  • 1987: Doug Jarvis, Hartford Whalers
  • 1986: Charlie Simmer, Boston Bruins
  • 1985: Anders Hedberg, New York Rangers
  • 1984: Brad Park, Detroit Red Wings
  • 1983: Lanny McDonald, Calgary Flames
  • 1982: Glenn Resch, Colorado Rockies
  • 1981: Blake Dunlop, St. Louis Blues
  • 1980: Al MacAdam, Minnesota North Stars
  • 1979: Serge Savard, Montreal Canadiens
  • 1978: Butch Goring, Los Angeles Kings
  • 1977: Ed Westfall, New York Islanders
  • 1976: Rod Gilbert, New York Rangers
  • 1975: Don Luce, Buffalo Sabres
  • 1974: Henri Richard, Montreal Canadiens
  • 1973: Lowell MacDonald, Pittsburgh Penguins
  • 1972: Bobby Clarke, Philadelphia Flyers
  • 1971: Jean Ratelle, New York Rangers
  • 1970: Pit Martin, Chicago Black Hawks
  • 1969: Ted Hampson, Oakland Seals
  • 1968: Claude Provost, Montreal Canadiens
View More

The NHL has updated its Privacy Policy effective January 16, 2020. We encourage you to review it carefully.

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.