Skip to Main Content
Hall of Fame

Hockey Hall of Fame Class of 2018 to be announced

Brodeur, St. Louis, Alfredsson among top candidates

by Dan Rosen @drosennhl / Senior Writer

Martin Brodeur better keep his phone on and powered up because he should be expecting a call from the Hockey Hall of Fame on Tuesday.

Brodeur, a three-time Stanley Cup champion with the New Jersey Devils (1995, 2000, 2003) and the NHL all-time leader in wins (691) and shutouts (125), should be a lock to be voted into the Hall of Fame's Class of 2018 when the 18-member selection committee meets in Toronto.

The entire Class of 2018 will be revealed at 3 p.m. ET.

Video: Discussing potential Hockey Hall of Fame inductees

A maximum of four former NHL players, two female players and two builders, including one referee or linesman, can be voted in by the committee in one year. The players must be retired for at least three seasons to be eligible.

Here are five former NHL players who could be getting the call:


Martin Brodeur

Brodeur, who is in his first year of eligibility after retiring following the 2014-15 season, is a slam dunk for the selection committee. He will be the headliner of the Class of 2018.

In addition to holding the NHL record in wins and shutouts, Brodeur also has the record for games played among goaltenders (1,266), saves (28,928), minutes played (74,439), 30-win seasons (14), consecutive 30-win seasons (12), consecutive 35-win seasons (11), 40-win seasons (eight) and consecutive 40-win seasons (three).

Along with winning the Stanley Cup three times, Brodeur won the 1994 Calder Trophy as the best rookie in the NHL, the Vezina Trophy as the best goalie four times (2003, 2004, 2007, 2008) and the William M. Jennings Trophy, awarded to the goalkeeper(s) having played a minimum of 25 games for the team with the fewest goals scored against it, five times (1997, 1998, 2003, 2004, 2010). 

He shares the records for most wins in a season (48) with Washington Capitals goalie Braden Holtby and most regular-season overtime wins (111) with Florida Panthers goalie Roberto Luongo.

Video: 2009: Martin Brodeur becomes all-time wins leader


Martin St. Louis 

St. Louis, who is in his first year of eligibility, could be the second member of the Tampa Bay Lightning's 2004 Stanley Cup championship team to get voted into the Hall of Fame. 

Dave Andreychuk, who was the Lightning's captain, was inducted into the Hall last year with St. Louis in attendance at the ceremony.

St. Louis went from being an undrafted player largely because of his size (5-foot-8) to a Stanley Cup champion who won the Hart Trophy as NHL most valuable player in 2004. He also won the Art Ross Trophy as the leading scorer in 2004 and 2013, the Ted Lindsay Award as the most outstanding player as voted by the NHL Players' Association in 2004, and the Lady Byng Trophy for his skill and sportsmanship in 2010, 2011 and 2013.

St. Louis had 1,033 points (391 goals, 642 assists) in 1,134 games played and is the Lightning's all-time leader in assists (588), points (953), power-play points (300), shorthanded goals (28), shorthand points (44), game-winning goals (64), overtime goals (10), postseason goals (33) and postseason points (68).

Video: 2004: Martin St. Louis extends Cup Final to Game 7


Daniel Alfredsson

Alfredsson, who is in his second year of eligibility after retiring following the 2013-14 season, had 1,157 points (444 goals, 713 assists) in 1,246 games in 18 NHL seasons, including the first 17 with the Ottawa Senators. 

Alfredsson never won the Stanley Cup, but he won a gold medal with Sweden at the 2006 Torino Olympics and a silver medal at the 2014 Sochi Olympics. He won the Calder Trophy in 1996, the King Clancy Memorial Trophy for his leadership and humanitarian contribution in 2012 and the Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award in 2013.

He is the Senators' all-time leader in goals (426), assists (682), points (1,108), power-play goals (131), power-play points (410), shorthanded goals (25), shorthanded points (43) and game-winning goals (69), and holds their Stanley Cup Playoff records for games played (121), goals (51), assists (49) and points (100).

Video: DET@OTT: Senators retire Alfredsson's No. 11 jeresy


Alexander Mogilny

Mogilny is in his 10th year of eligibility after retiring following the 2005-06 season, but the recent inductions of Andreychuk, Paul Kariya and Mark Recchi last year, and Eric Lindros, Sergei Makarov and Rogie Vachon in 2016 have given renewed hope to players in the holdover club.

Andreychuk was in his ninth year of eligibility, Kariya his fifth and Recchi his fourth when they got inducted last year. Vachon was in his 31st year of eligibility, Makarov his 16th and Lindros his seventh in 2016.

Kariya's induction last year should pave the way for Mogilny because of how well they compare.

Mogilny played 990 games, one more than Kariya, and finished with 71 more goals (473-402) and 43 more points (1,032-989). Mogilny won the Stanley Cup with the Devils in 2000. Kariya never won the Stanley Cup. 

Each won gold medals at the Olympics (Mogilny, 1988, Soviet Union; Kariya, 2002, Canada), the IIHF World Championship (Mogilny, 1989; Kariya, 1994) and the IIHF World Junior Championship (Mogilny, 1989; Kariya 1993).

Mogilny is one of 28 players to be a member of the Triple Gold Club (Stanley Cup title, Olympic gold, World Championship gold).


Curtis Joseph

Joseph, in his seventh year of eligibility after retiring following the 2008-09 season, likely hasn't gotten his Hall call yet because he never won the Stanley Cup or Vezina Trophy. Otherwise, his resume stacks up well.

Joseph is fifth in NHL history with 454 wins, more than Hall of Famers Terry Sawchuk, Jacques Plante, Tony Esposito, Glenn Hall, Grant Fuhr and Dominik Hasek, who all won the Stanley Cup at least once. He is sixth in games played (943) and had a 2.79 goals-against average, a .906 save percentage and 51 shutouts in his NHL career. He had seven NHL seasons with at least 30 wins and is seventh in games played in the playoffs (133) and 13th in wins (63).


Other possibilities:

* Willie O'Ree, who broke the NHL's color barrier on Jan. 18, 1958, and recently awarded the first Willie O'Ree Community Hero Award to Darcy Haugan, the late coach of the Humboldt Broncos, could be inducted into the builder's category. 

* Boris Mikhailov, 73, could be the first male inducted into the player category who didn't play in the NHL since his former Soviet national team linemate, the late Valeri Kharlamov, in 2005. Mikhailov won two Olympic gold medals (1972, 1976) and helped the Soviet Union win the IIHF World Championship eight times.

* In addition to Alfredsson, Joseph and Mogilny, holdovers such as Kevin Lowe, Doug Wilson, Jeremy Roenick, Theo Fleury, Chris Osgood and Sergei Zubov should be on the Selection Committee's radar. Sergei Gonchar is another first-time eligible candidate to watch.

View More