Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Edmonton Oilers

Oilers McDavid Wins Art Ross Trophy

Presented "to the player who leads the league in scoring points at the end of the regular season."

by Press Release /

Centre Connor McDavid of the Edmonton Oilers won his first career Art Ross Trophy, presented "to the player who leads the league in scoring points at the end of the regular season."

McDavid finished the season with a League-leading 100 points (and 70 assists) in 82 games, besting Pittsburgh Penguins centre Sidney Crosby (44-45-89 in 75 GP) and Chicago Blackhawks right wing Patrick Kane (34-55-89 in 82 GP). McDavid registered at least one point in 59 of his 82 appearances (72.0%), highlighted by a career-high, 14-game point streak to close the season (7-18-25) - the longest by any NHL player in 2016-17 and longest by any Oilers player since 1987-88. He also posted a League-best 30 multi-point performances, including his first career hat trick Nov. 19 at DAL. At 20 years, 86 days, McDavid became the third-youngest player to win the Art Ross Trophy, behind only Crosby (19 years, 244 days in 2006-07) and Wayne Gretzky (20 years, 69 days in 1980-81). He also became the second Oilers player to claim the award and first since Gretzky won seven straight from 1980-81 through 1986-87.

Art Ross Trophy Winners Since 1990

Year Winner Runner-up

2017 Connor McDavid, Edm. Sidney Crosby, Pit.

2016 Patrick Kane, Chi. Jamie Benn, Dal.

2015 Jamie Benn, Dal. John Tavares, NYI

2014 Sidney Crosby, Pit. Ryan Getzlaf, Ana.

2013 Martin St. Louis, T.B. Steven Stamkos, T.B.

2012 Evgeni Malkin, Pit. Steven Stamkos, T.B.

2011 Daniel Sedin, Van. Martin St. Louis, T.B.

2010 Henrik Sedin, Van. Sidney Crosby, Pit.

2009 Evgeni Malkin, Pit. Alex Ovechkin, Wsh.

2008 Alex Ovechkin, Wsh. Evgeni Malkin, Pit.

2007 Sidney Crosby, Pit. Joe Thornton, S.J.

2006 Joe Thornton, S.J. Jaromir Jagr, NYR

2004 Martin St. Louis, T.B. Ilya Kovalchuk, Atl.

2003 Peter Forsberg, Col. Markus Naslund, Van.

2002 Jarome Iginla, Cgy. Markus Naslund, Van.

2001 Jaromir Jagr, Pit. Joe Sakic, Col.

2000 Jaromir Jagr, Pit. Pavel Bure, Fla.

1999 Jaromir Jagr, Pit. Teemu Selanne, Ana.

1998 Jaromir Jagr, Pit. Peter Forsberg, Col.

1997 Mario Lemieux, Pit. Teemu Selanne, Ana.

1996 Mario Lemieux, Pit. Jaromir Jagr, Pit.

1995 Jaromir Jagr, Pit. Eric Lindros, Phi.

1994 Wayne Gretzky, L.A. Sergei Fedorov, Det.

1993 Mario Lemieux, Pit. Pat LaFontaine, Buf.

1992 Mario Lemieux, Pit. Kevin Stevens, Pit.

1991 Wayne Gretzky, L.A. Brett Hull, St.L

1990 Wayne Gretzky, L.A. Mark Messier, Edm.

View More