Skip to Main Content
NHL Awards

Bruins win Jennings Trophy for allowing fewest goals

Goalies Rask, Halak help Boston finish with NHL-low 2.39 against per game @NHLdotcom

The Boston Bruins won the William M. Jennings Trophy for allowing the fewest goals in the NHL this season.

Goalies Tuukka Rask (26-8-6, 2.12 goals-against average, .929 save percentage) and Jaroslav Halak (18-6-6, 2.39 GAA, .919 save percentage) combined for eight shutouts and helped the Bruins allow 167 goals, a League-low 2.39 per game, before the season was paused March 12 due to concerns surrounding the coronavirus.

The NHL in its Return to Play Plan announcement May 26 said there would be no more regular-season games, instead restarting with eight teams in each conference playing a Qualifying Round for the Stanley Cup Playoffs, with a Seeding Round Robin featuring the top four teams in each conference.

It's the third time Boston goalies have won the Jennings Trophy (Andy Moog and Rejean Lemelin, 1989-90; Tim Thomas and Manny Fernandez, 2008-09) and the first time Rask has won it. Halak won it with the St. Louis Blues in 2011-12.

The Bruins allowed two regulation goals or fewer in 41 of 70 games this season.

Boston, which finished first in the Atlantic Division, won the Presidents' Trophy as the team with the best record in the NHL, finishing 44-14-12 with 100 points. It was the third time the Bruins won the award (1989-90, 2013-14).

View More