Skip to Main Content
Greatest NHL Teams

Top 50 Greatest NHL Teams revealed

Fan voting underway to determine Top 20 @NHLdotcom

NHL fans have spoken. Now it's time to make your voices heard again.

After one round of voting, 50 teams remain from the original list of 96 NHL Stanley Cup champions in the quest for the title of NHL's Greatest Team.

The 50, chosen by you, the fans, in head-to-head matchups, will be pared to 20 in second-round voting, which runs from May 4-17. The top 10 will be unveiled during the Stanley Cup Final.

To make your picks, go to Sponsored by SAP in the U.S. and Honda in Canada, the site includes an interactive gallery page of each of the NHL's 96 Stanley Cup Championship teams, featuring team and player information as well as stunning, never-before-published images, in conjunction with the Hockey Hall of Fame.

Here are the 50 remaining teams (in reverse chronological order):

2015-16 Pittsburgh Penguins
2014-15 Chicago Blackhawks
2012-13 Chicago Blackhawks
2009-10 Chicago Blackhawks
2008-09 Pittsburgh Penguins
2007-08 Detroit Red Wings
2006-07 Anaheim Ducks
2001-02 Detroit Red Wings
2000-01 Colorado Avalanche
1999-00 New Jersey Devils
1997-98 Detroit Red Wings
1996-97 Detroit Red Wings
1995-96 Colorado Avalanche
1994-95 New Jersey Devils
1993-94 New York Rangers
1992-93 Montreal Canadiens
1991-92 Pittsburgh Penguins
1990-91 Pittsburgh Penguins
1989-90 Edmonton Oilers
1988-89 Calgary Flames
1987-88 Edmonton Oilers
1986-87 Edmonton Oilers
1984-85 Edmonton Oilers
1983-84 Edmonton Oilers
1982-83 New York Islanders
1981-82 New York Islanders
1980-81 New York Islanders
1979-80 New York Islanders
1978-79 Montreal Canadiens
1977-78 Montreal Canadiens
1976-77 Montreal Canadiens
1975-76 Montreal Canadiens
1973-74 Philadelphia Flyers
1972-73 Montreal Canadiens
1971-72 Boston Bruins
1970-71 Montreal Canadiens
1969-70 Boston Bruins
1968-69 Montreal Canadiens
1967-68 Montreal Canadiens
1966-67 Toronto Maple Leafs
1965-66 Montreal Canadiens
1964-65 Montreal Canadiens
1962-63 Toronto Maple Leafs
1959-60 Montreal Canadiens
1958-59 Montreal Canadiens
1957-58 Montreal Canadiens
1956-57 Montreal Canadiens
1955-56 Montreal Canadiens
1954-55 Detroit Red Wings
1951-52 Detroit Red Wings

View More

The NHL has updated its Privacy Policy effective January 16, 2020. We encourage you to review it carefully.

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.