Skip to Main Content
This Date in NHL History

May 24: Islanders dynasty is born

Plus: Power outage at Boston Garden suspends game; Oilers win Cup for fifth time

by John Kreiser @jkreiser7713 / Managing Editor

Memories: Nystrom pots OT winner

Memories: Nystrom pots OT Stanley Cup-clinching goal

On May 24, 1980, Islanders forward Bobby Nystrom scores the overtime winner to give the Isles their first of four straight Stanley Cups

  • 02:45 •


1980: The New York Islanders begin a dynasty when Bobby Nystrom scores 7:11 into overtime for a 5-4 victory against the Philadelphia Flyers at Nassau Coliseum in Game 6 of the Stanley Cup Final. The eighth-year franchise wins the first of four consecutive championships.

A pass from Lorne Henning sends John Tonelli and Nystrom in on a 2-on-1 break. Tonelli's perfect pass finds Nystrom, whose backhand chip past goalie Pete Peeters gives New York the win after the Flyers force overtime by scoring two third-period goals. 

"I just did the thing we had done in practice over and over and over again, go to the net," Nystrom says. "[Tonelli] feathered a nice pass to me and all I did was deflect it."

It's a disappointing end for the Flyers after finishing first in the regular season with 116 points and setting an NHL record by going 35 games without a loss (25 wins, 10 ties) during one stretch. The Islanders, the regular-season champions in 1978-79, finish with 91 points. They are the first (and still only) modern-era team to finish at least 25 points behind their opponent in the Final and win the Cup.



1986: The Montreal Canadiens win the Stanley Cup for the first time since 1979 by defeating the Calgary Flames 4-3 at the Saddledome in Game 5 of the Final. A goal by Bobby Smith midway through the third period gives Montreal a 4-1 lead and proves to be the Cup-winner when Steve Bozak and Joe Mullen score for Calgary. Rookie goalie Patrick Roy makes 30 saves for the victory and is voted winner of the Conn Smythe Trophy as playoff MVP.


1988: A power outage knocks out the lights at the Boston Garden 16:37 into the second period in Game 4 of the Final, with the Boston Bruins and Edmonton Oilers tied 3-3. After efforts to restore power prove fruitless, NHL President John Ziegler cites League by-laws and announces that though the scoring totals will count, the game will be replayed, if necessary, in Boston at the end of the series as Game 7. The series continues two nights later in Edmonton.

Video: Memories: Power outage halts game at Boston Garden


1990: The Oilers win the Cup for the fifth time in seven seasons by defeating the Bruins 4-1 at Boston Garden in Game 5 of the Final. Glenn Anderson and Craig Simpson score in the second period for the Oilers, and third-period goals by Steve Smith and Joe Murphy put the game away before Boston's Lyndon Byers breaks up Bill Ranford's shutout bid with 3:30 to play. Ranford, who behind his NHL career with the Bruins in 1985-86, wins the Conn Smythe Trophy as playoff MVP.

Video: Memories: Edmonton captures their fifth Stanley Cup


1994: The Vancouver Canucks advance to the Cup Final for the second time in their history when Greg Adams' goal 14 seconds into the second overtime gives them a 4-3 win against the Toronto Maple Leafs at Pacific Coliseum in Game 5 of the Western Conference Final. The Canucks trail 3-0 after the first period, tie the game with three goals in the second and get the win when Adams beats Felix Potvin on the first shift of the second overtime. It's Vancouver's first trip to the Final since 1982.


2011: Exactly 17 years after the Canucks advance to the Final with a double-overtime victory, they do it again. This time, defenseman Kevin Bieksa scores at 10:18 of the second OT to give the Canucks a 3-2 victory against the San Jose Sharks at Rogers Arena in Game 5 of the Western Conference Final. Vancouver's Ryan Kesler ties the game 2-2 by scoring with 13.2 seconds remaining in the third period, and Roberto Luongo makes 54 saves before Bieksa takes advantage of a strange carom off the glass and beats Antti Niemi for the winner.


2013: James Neal scores three goals to lead the Pittsburgh Penguins to a series-clinching 6-2 victory against the Ottawa Senators at Consol Energy Center in Game 5 of the Eastern Conference Semifinals. It's the first series-clinching win at home for the Penguins since 2009. Neal finishes the series with nine points, including five goals in Games 4 and 5. It's the first trip to the conference finals for the Penguins since 2009, when they go on to win the Stanley Cup.


2016: The Penguins push the Eastern Conference Final to the limit with a 5-2 victory against the Tampa Bay Lightning in Game 6 at Amalie Arena. Pittsburgh leads 3-0 after two periods, but Brian Boyle scores twice for Tampa Bay to make it a one-goal game. However, Bryan Rust scores for the Penguins with 2:08 remaining, and an empty-net goal by Nick Bonino with 54 seconds to play sends the series back to Pittsburgh for Game 7.

View More

The NHL has updated its Privacy Policy effective January 16, 2020. We encourage you to review it carefully.

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.