Skip to Main Content
This Date in NHL History

June 7: Red Wings sweep Flyers, end 42-year Stanley Cup drought

Plus: Potvin dethrones Orr for Norris Trophy; Capitals win first championship

by John Kreiser @jkreiser7713 / Managing Editor


1997: The Stanley Cup returns to Hockeytown for the first time in 42 years.

The Detroit Red Wings complete a sweep of the Philadelphia Flyers with a 2-1 victory in Game 4 of the Final at Joe Louis Arena to win their first championship since 1955. Nicklas Lidstrom scores late in the first period to put the Red Wings up 1-0, and Darren McCarty makes it 2-0 at 13:02 of the second. Goalie Mike Vernon makes 26 saves, allowing only a goal by Eric Lindros with 15 seconds remaining in the third period.

One year after being benched for Detroit's final 10 playoff games, Vernon wins the Conn Smythe Trophy as postseason MVP with a 16-4 record, a 1.76 goals-against average and a .927 save percentage.

Video: Memories: Detroit wins Cup, ends 42-year drought



1976: Denis Potvin of the New York Islanders ends Bobby Orr's eight-year lock on the Norris Trophy when he's voted as the NHL's top defenseman for the 1975-76 season. Islanders center Bryan Trottier wins the Calder Trophy as the League's top rookie.

Video: Denis Potvin was captain of Islanders' 1980s dynasty


1989: Wayne Gretzky becomes the first player in NHL history to take home the same award nine times when he's voted as winner of the Hart Trophy as MVP. This one comes after his first season with the Los Angeles Kings; the previous eight come with the Edmonton Oilers.

Video: Memories: Gretzky wins his ninth Hart Trophy


1993: John LeClair scores at 14:37 of overtime to give the Montreal Canadiens a 3-2 win against the Los Angeles Kings in Game 4 of the Final at the Forum in Inglewood, California. It's the Canadiens' NHL-record 10th straight playoff overtime win. LeClair beats goalie Kelly Hrudey to become the second player in NHL history to score an overtime goal in back-to-back games during the Final, joining Don Raleigh of the New York Rangers in 1950.

Video: Memories: Canadiens win 10 straight OT games


1994: The Rangers move within one win of their first Stanley Cup championship since 1940 by defeating the Vancouver Canucks 4-2 at Pacific Coliseum in Game 4 of the Final. After Vancouver takes a 2-0 lead, defenseman Brian Leetch scores his 10th goal of the 1994 playoffs and assists on New York's other three goals, giving the Rangers a 3-1 lead in the best-of-7 series.


2001: Patrick Roy gets his playoff-record 19th career shutout in a 4-0 victory by the Colorado Avalanche against the New Jersey Devils in Game 6 of the Cup Final. With a full house of 19,040 at Continental Airlines Arena rooting for the Devils to complete their run to a second straight championship, Roy makes 24 saves and defenseman Adam Foote has a goal and two assists. Colorado evens the best-of-7 series 3-3.


2004: The Tampa Bay Lightning edge the Calgary Flames 2-1 in Game 7 of the Final at St. Pete Times Forum to win the Stanley Cup for the first time since entering the NHL in 1992. Ruslan Fedotenko scores once in each of the first two periods for the Lightning, enabling them to survive a power-play goal by the Flames' Craig Conroy midway through the third. Tampa Bay goalie Nikolai Khabibulin makes 16 saves. The victory is especially sweet for Lightning captain Dave Andreychuk, who's played an NHL-record 1,759 games (regular season and playoffs) during his 22 NHL seasons before winning the Cup.


2006: Cam Ward becomes the first rookie goalie to earn a shutout in the Final since Roy with the Canadiens in 1986 when the Carolina Hurricanes defeat the Edmonton Oilers 5-0 in Game 2 at RBC Center. Center Matt Cullen assists on three of the five goals by Carolina, which takes a 2-0 lead in the best-of-7 series.


2013: The Pittsburgh Penguins are swept in a playoff series for the first time since 1979 when they lose 1-0 to the Boston Bruins in Game 4 of the Eastern Conference Final at TD Garden. Defenseman Adam McQuaid scores 5:01 into the third period, and goalie Tuukka Rask makes 26 saves. Pittsburgh's streak of 45 consecutive playoff series without being swept is the second-longest in NHL history, behind only the Canadiens' run of 56 series from 1953 through 1980.


2014: Dustin Brown scores at 10:26 of the second overtime to give the Kings a 5-4 victory against the Rangers in Game 2 of the Final at Staples Center. New York leads 2-0 after one period and 4-2 after two, but the Kings get third-period goals by Dwight King and former Rangers forward Marian Gaborik to tie it and force overtime. The Kings become the third team in NHL history to overcome two-goal deficits and win consecutive games in the Final. They also become the first team in NHL history to win three straight games in one playoff year after not leading for even one second of playing time in any of them.


2018: The Washington Capitals win the Stanley Cup for the first time since entering the NHL in 1974 when they defeat the Vegas Golden Knights 4-3 at T-Mobile Arena in Game 5 of the Final. The Capitals trail 3-2 after two periods, but goals by Devante Smith-Pelly and Lars Eller midway through the third period give Washington the win. Alex Ovechkin, who scores his team single-year record 15th goal in the second period, is voted winner of the Conn Smythe Trophy as playoff MVP.

Video: WSH@VGK, Gm5: Capitals celebrate first Stanley Cup

View More