Skip to Main Content
This Date in NHL History

June 15: Bruins win Cup for first time in 39 years

Plus: Ducks join NHL; Blackhawks top Lightning for third championship in six seasons

by John Kreiser @jkreiser7713 / Managing Editor


2011: The Boston Bruins win the Stanley Cup for the first time since 1972 by playing an almost-perfect Game 7 in the Final.

Brad Marchand and Patrice Bergeron each scores twice, Tim Thomas makes 37 saves and the Bruins become the third team in NHL history to win Game 7 on the road when they defeat the Vancouver Canucks 4-0 at Rogers Arena.

Bergeron scores the Cup-winning goal at 14:37 of the first period, Marchand and Bergeron each score in the second and Marchand scores an empty-netter late in the third to become the first rookie with two goals in Game 7 of the Final. With five goals, Marchand matches Roy Conacher of the 1939 Bruins for the most by a rookie in the Final.

The Bruins overcome 2-0 and 3-2 series deficits to win the Cup.

"We never, never quit, and that's what I'm proud of," coach Claude Julien says. "They're so deserving of what has happened here."

Thomas is voted winner of the Conn Smythe Trophy as playoff MVP after limiting the Canucks to eight goals, a record for the fewest allowed by a goalie in a Final series in which he plays seven games. The previous record is nine, set by Frank McCool of the Toronto Maple Leafs and Harry Lumley of the Detroit Red Wings in 1945.



1993: The Mighty Ducks of Anaheim (now the Anaheim Ducks) officially receive membership in the NHL. They and the Florida Panthers begin play in the NHL in 1993-94.


2013: Daniel Paille scores goal at 13:48 of overtime to give Boston a series-tying 2-1 win against the Chicago Blackhawks in Game 2 of the Final at United Center. Goalie Tuukka Rask makes 18 of his 33 saves in the first period, and the Bruins tie it late in the second when Chris Kelly scores his first goal of the playoffs. Patrick Sharp beats Rask midway through the first period to give Chicago a 1-0 lead.


2015: After winning the Stanley Cup three times in their first 82 seasons, the Blackhawks win it for the third time in six seasons by defeating the Tampa Bay Lightning 2-0 in Game 6 of the Final at United Center. It's the first time since 1938 that the Blackhawks raise the Cup on their home ice. Defenseman Duncan Keith, who wins the Conn Smythe Trophy, puts the Blackhawks ahead 1-0 late in the second period, and Patrick Kane scores with 5:14 remaining in the third. Corey Crawford makes 25 saves to become the fifth goalie in 39 years to have a shutout in the Cup-deciding game.

View More