Skip to Main Content
Ted Lindsay Award

Ted Lindsay finalists unveiled

Hall, MacKinnon, McDavid in running for NHL's most outstanding player as voted by NHLPA

by Brett Amadon / Staff Writer

Edmonton Oilers captain Connor McDavid, New Jersey Devils forward Taylor Hall, and Colorado Avalanche forward Nathan MacKinnon on Thursday were named finalists for the Ted Lindsay Award, given annually to the most outstanding player in the NHL as voted by members of the NHL Players' Association.

The winner will be announced at the 2018 NHL Awards presented by Hulu at the Hard Rock Hotel & Casino in Las Vegas on June 20.

McDavid is seeking to become the first player to win the award in consecutive seasons since Pittsburgh Penguins forward Sidney Crosby in 2013-14. The 21-year-old led the NHL with 108 points (41 goals, 67 assists) to win his second consecutive Art Ross Trophy. He also led the League in points per game (1.32) and multipoint games (32), and was fourth in average ice time among forwards (21:08). McDavid is one of three Oilers to win the award (Wayne Gretzky, Mark Messier) and is looking to become the first player to win the award twice before turning 22.

Video: Discussing the finalists for the Ted Lindsay Award

Hall helped New Jersey reach the Stanley Cup Playoffs for the first time since 2011-12. The 26-year-old set NHL career highs in goals (39), assists (54) and points (93) in 76 games, all of which led the Devils (Nico Hischier was second with 52 points). Hall was plus-14 and had at least one point (18 goals, 20 assists) in 26 games he played from Jan. 2-March 6. Hall would be the first Devils player to win the award.

MacKinnon finished fifth with a career-high 97 points (39 goals, 58 assists) in 74 games and was second in points per game (1.31). The 22-year-old tied Tampa Bay Lightning forward Brayden Point for most game-winning goals (12) to help Colorado reach the playoffs for the first time since 2013-14. MacKinnon would be the second Avalanche player to win the award (Joe Sakic).

View More