Skip to main content
Stanley Cup

Backstrom gets Stanley Cup first from Ovechkin after Capitals win

Longtime linemates share trophy at start of celebration following Game 5 victory against Golden Knights @NHLdotcom

LAS VEGAS -- This time, it was Alex Ovechkin passing to Nicklas Backstrom.

Following a 4-3 win that gave the Washington Capitals the Stanley Cup for the first time, Ovechkin as captain was presented the trophy by NHL Commissioner Gary Bettman and then handed it to his longtime linemate, Backstrom, the next senior member of the Capitals.

"It was a great feeling," Backstrom said. "We just hugged each other. Finally, we finally did it. We're so happy about this and happy we did it together."

Video: WSH@VGK, Gm5: Capitals presented with Stanley Cup

Backstrom assisted on 230 of Ovechkin's 607 regular-season NHL goals and on 22 of his 61 in the Stanley Cup Playoffs, including in the second period of the clinching win against the Vegas Golden Knights in Game 5 at T-Mobile Arena on Thursday.

After Ovechkin received the trophy from Commissioner Bettman, he skated briefly with it, kissed it a few times, before handing it to Backstrom, his Capitals teammate since 2007-08, two seasons after Ovechkin made his NHL debut.

"It's a lot heavier than you think," Backstrom said. "It was great when [Alex] gave it to me there. We've been dreaming about this since we were kids. It's just a great feeling."

Backstrom and Ovechkin then skated together to hand it to Brooks Orpik, the only Capitals player who had won the Stanley Cup previously, with the Pittsburgh Penguins in 2009.


[RELATED: Complete Golden Knights vs. Capitals series coverage | Capitals Championship Gear]


"It was great," Backstrom said. "He told me beforehand he was going to give it to me but it was nice that he skated around with it with me."

That was followed by Matt Niskanen, T.J. Oshie, Jay Beagle, John Carlson, Braden Holtby, Lars Eller, Dmitry Orlov, Evgeny Kuznetsov, Tom Wilson, Andre Burakovsky, Michal Kempny, Devante Smith-Pelly, Brett Connolly, Jakub Vrana, Alex Chiasson, Philipp Grubauer, Chandler Stephenson, Christian Djoos, Madison Bowey, Nathan Walker, Travis Boyd, Jakub Jerabek, Pheonix Copley and Shane Gersich.

Ovechkin then led a lap with the team before handing the Cup to coach Barry Trotz.

"It's amazing, I think it's even more amazing watching some of these guys, my teammates lift it," Holtby said. "Nick, Ovi, Beags, those guys, we've been together forever. I'm so proud of those guys, so proud of everyone here."

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.