Skip to main content

Headlines

Global Series

NHL announces 2018 Global Series dates, locations, ticket information

Oilers, Devils open regular season in Gothenburg Oct. 6; Panthers, Jets to play in Helsinki Nov. 1-2

NHL.com @NHL

The Edmonton Oilers and New Jersey Devils will play their 2018-19 season-opening game at the Scandinavium in Gothenburg, Sweden, on Oct. 6 (7 p.m. CET / 1 p.m. ET) as part of the 2018 NHL Global Series.

The Florida Panthers and Winnipeg Jets will play two games at Hartwall Arena in Helsinki, Finland, on Nov. 1 and 2 (8 p.m. EET/ 1 p.m. ET).

The Devils and Oilers each will complete their training camp in Europe -- the Devils in Switzerland, and the Oilers in Germany -- and play an exhibition game as part of the 2018 NHL Global Series Challenge. New Jersey will play SC Bern of the National League at PostFinance Arena in Bern, Switzerland, on Oct. 1 (7:30 p.m. CET / 1:30 p.m. ET). Edmonton will play Kölner Haie of the Deutsche Eishockey Liga at Lanxess Arena in Cologne, Germany, on Oct. 3 (4 p.m. CET / 10 a.m. ET).

"I don't think something like this will happen that often so I'll really enjoy this," said Devils rookie center Nico Hischier, who grew up an hour from Bern. "To be able to do something like this is going to be a lot of fun, for sure. To have the opportunity to do this is pretty amazing and I'm happy that the NHL does this."

It was announced in January that the Oilers, Panthers, Devils and Jets would play regular-season games in Europe as part of the Global Series.

"I think it will receive a lot of attention," said Oilers forward Leon Draisaitl, a Cologne native. "It's a pretty sport-fanatic city. They love their soccer and they love their sports teams. It's pretty special for me personally to get to play against [Kölner Haie]. My dad actually coaches the team, so that will be pretty funny to play against them."

There have been 22 NHL regular-season games played in Europe, including last season when the Ottawa Senators and Colorado Avalanche played two games in Stockholm, Sweden. The Devils and Oilers will play the ninth regular-season game in Sweden, first in Gothenburg. The Jets and Panthers will play the fifth and sixth games in Finland, all of which have taken place in Helsinki.

"It's going to be an unbelievable experience for the team and the whole Finnish crowd," said Jets forward Patrik Laine, a native of Tampere, Finland. "Most of the people haven't seen NHL hockey live so it's a nice opportunity for them to see all of the best players in the world. It's going to be unreal for sure."

Panthers forward Aleksander Barkov, also from Tampere, said playing in his home country will be a dream come true. 

"I was dreaming, but not never thought it would it be possible to play in Finland with my own NHL team," Barkov told the Panthers website. "(Finland is) where it all started. Where I started watching the NHL and playing hockey. Now, I get a chance to go there with my teammates and play an NHL game. It's going to be pretty special."

Tickets to all games will be available for purchase next week. Ticket opportunities are available on a first-come, first-served basis, while supplies last. 

Tickets to the Oct. 1 game between the Devils and SC Bern at PostFinance Arena in Bern, Switzerland, will go on sale Monday at 10 a.m. CET (4 a.m. ET) at http://www.ticketcorner.ch.

Tickets to the Oct. 3 game between the Oilers and Kölner Haie at Lanxess Arena Cologne, Germany, will go on sale March 14 at 10 a.m. CET (4 a.m. ET) at eventimsports.de and Haie.de.

Tickets to the Oct. 6 game between the Devils and Oilers at the Scandinavium in Gothenburg, Sweden, will go on sale Monday at 9 a.m. CET (3 a.m. ET) at https://www.livenation.se.

Tickets to the Nov. 1 and Nov. 2 games between the Panthers and Jets at Hartwall Arena in Helsinki, Finland, will go on sale Monday at 9 a.m. EET (2 a.m. ET) at https://www.livenation.fi.

In addition, VIP hospitality packages will be available for purchase at a later date.

More information, including broadcast details, will be announced at a later date. As part of the League's six international sites, NHL.com/sv, NHL.com/fi and NHL.com/de will serve as the official home for all of the latest news and information about the 2018 NHL Global Series as well as other features from around the NHL

View More