Skip to Main Content
Short Shifts

NHL 20 projects Bruins to win Stanley Cup

Boston defeats Vegas in Final; Hughes, Karlsson, Ovechkin, MacKinnon predicted as award winners

by Pat Pickens @Pat_Pickens / Staff Writer

The Boston Bruins will be your 2020 Stanley Cup champions, at least if the EA Sports NHL 20 simulations are correct.

NHL 20 unveiled its most recent projections, where Boston defeats the Vegas Golden Knights in six games in the Stanley Cup Final to take home the Cup for the first time since 2011.

Behind Conn Smythe Trophy-winning forward Brad Marchand's 32 points in 25 Stanley Cup Playoff games, the Bruins upset the Toronto Maple Leafs and Presidents' Trophy-winning Tampa Bay Lightning, then cap their second straight conference championship with a six-game win against the Washington Capitals in the Eastern Conference Final.

The Golden Knights are projected to reach the Cup Final for the second time in their three-season existence and finish with the most points in the Western Conference (102) and third-most in the NHL. They reached the Cup Final through two seven-game series wins, against the San Jose Sharks in the Western Conference Second Round and the Colorado Avalanche in the Western Conference Final.

Jack Hughes, who the New Jersey Devils took with the top pick of the 2019 NHL Draft, will win the Calder Trophy with 87 points. Erik Karlsson will claim his third Norris Trophy win, and first with the San Jose Sharks.

Colorado Avalanche forward Nathan MacKinnon will finish with 119 points, earning him the Hart Trophy and Art Ross Trophy, but Alex Ovechkin will claim his ninth Rocket Richard Trophy with 55 goals.

NHL 19 projected the Maple Leafs to claim the Cup by defeating the San Jose Sharks, but the St. Louis Blues defeated the Boston Bruins in seven games to claim their first championship.

We'll learn if these projections will come true when the 2019-20 NHL season opens Wednesday.

View More