Skip to Main Content
Situation Room

Video Review: NYR @ CAR - 0:43 of the Third Period

No goal New York @NHLdotcom

At 0:43 of the third period in the Rangers/Hurricanes game, the Situation Room initiated a video review to further examine a play at the Carolina net. The Referee informed the Situation Room that he blew his whistle to stop play to call a penalty on Rangers forward Chris Kreider for interference before the puck crossed the goal line. The decision was made in accordance of Rule 31.2 which states, in part, that "the Referee may deem the play to be stopped slightly prior to the whistle actually being blown. The fact that the puck may come loose or cross the goal line prior to the sound of the whistle has no bearing if the Referee has ruled that the play had been stopped prior to this happening." This is not a reviewable play - no goal New York Rangers.

View More