Skip to Main Content
Press Release

King Clancy Trophy nominees announced by NHL

Award recognizes leadership qualities, contributions to community

by NHL Public Relations @PR_NHL

NEW YORK - The National Hockey League today announced the 31 team nominees for the 2020-21 King Clancy Memorial Trophy, which is presented "to the player who best exemplifies leadership qualities on and off the ice and has made a noteworthy humanitarian contribution in his community."

The nominees were selected by their respective NHL teams. The winner will be chosen by a committee of senior NHL executives led by Commissioner Gary Bettman and Deputy Commissioner Bill Daly. The selection committee will apply the following criteria in determining the finalists and winner:

* Clear and measurable positive impact on the community
* Investment of time and resources
* Commitment to a particular cause or community
* Commitment to the League's community initiatives
* Creativity of programming
* Use of influence; engagement of others

The first-place finisher will receive a $25,000 donation to benefit a charity or charities of his choice. The two runners-up each will receive a $5,000 donation to benefit a charity or charities of their choice.

The 2020-21 King Clancy Memorial Trophy nominees are:


Team, Nominee

Anaheim, Cam Fowler
Arizona, Oliver Ekman-Larsson
Boston, Charlie Coyle
Buffalo, Jack Eichel
Calgary, Mikael Backlund
Carolina, Jordan Staal
Chicago, Connor Murphy
Colorado, Pierre-Edouard Bellemare
Columbus, Cam Atkinson
Dallas, Esa Lindell
Detroit, Dylan Larkin
Edmonton, Kyle Turris
Florida, Sergei Bobrovsky
Los Angeles, Trevor Moore
Minnesota, Mats Zuccarello
Montreal, Jonathan Drouin
Nashville, Pekka Rinne
New Jersey, P.K. Subban
NY Islanders, Anders Lee
NY Rangers, Chris Kreider
Ottawa, Thomas Chabot
Philadelphia, Scott Laughton
Pittsburgh, Sidney Crosby
San Jose, Kurtis Gabriel
St. Louis, Ryan O'Reilly
Tampa Bay, Alex Killorn
Toronto, John Tavares
Vancouver, Tyler Motte
Vegas, Marc-Andre Fleury
Washington, Garnet Hathaway
Winnipeg, Blake Wheeler



The King Clancy Memorial Trophy was presented in 1988 by the NHL's Board of Governors in honor of Frank "King" Clancy, a beloved figure in the League for decades as a player, referee, coach, manager and goodwill ambassador. A three-time Stanley Cup champion and 1958 inductee to the Hockey Hall of Fame, Clancy was voted as one of the 100 Greatest NHL Players during the League's Centennial Celebration in 2017.

View More