Skip to Main Content
Greatest NHL Teams

20 Greatest NHL Teams revealed

Final round of head-to-head fan voting underway, Top 10 to be unveiled during Stanley Cup Final @NHLdotcom

Twenty teams remain in the quest to be named the Greatest NHL Team by you, the fans.

An interactive digital and mobile program that is part of the League's Centennial celebration, the Greatest NHL Teams began with the NHL's 96 Stanley Cup winners since the League's inaugural season in 1917-18 competing head-to-head, with fans picking the greatest Stanley Cup championship team.

The list was reduced from 96 to 50 in first-round voting and then to 20 in the second round.


[VIDEO: Top 20 Greatest NHL Teams]


Three New York Islanders and four Edmonton Oilers teams of the 1980s are in the top 20, as are three versions of the powerhouse Montreal Canadiens of the 1970s and the Stanley Cup champion Pittsburgh Penguins from 1990-91 and 1991-92.

The 1969-70 Boston Bruins also made the cut, as did the 1988-89 Calgary Flames, the 1993-94 New York Rangers, the 1997-98 and 2001-02 Detroit Red Wings, the 2000-01 Colorado Avalanche, the 2009-10 Chicago Blackhawks and last season's champions, the 2015-16 Penguins.

The 20 remaining teams will be pared to 10 in the final round of head-to-head voting, which closes May 25. The Top 10 will be unveiled during the Stanley Cup Final.

Video: 1983-84 Oilers dethrone Islanders to win Stanley Cup

To make your picks, go to Sponsored by SAP in the U.S. and Honda in Canada, the site includes an interactive gallery page for each of the NHL's 96 Stanley Cup championship teams, featuring team and player information as well as stunning, never-before-published images, in conjunction with the Hockey Hall of Fame.

Here are the 20 remaining teams (in reverse chronological order):

2015-16 Pittsburgh Penguins 
2009-10 Chicago Blackhawks
2001-02 Detroit Red Wings
2000-01 Colorado Avalanche
1997-98 Detroit Red Wings
1993-94 New York Rangers
1991-92 Pittsburgh Penguins
1990-91 Pittsburgh Penguins
1988-89 Calgary Flames
1987-88 Edmonton Oilers
1986-87 Edmonton Oilers
1984-85 Edmonton Oilers
1983-84 Edmonton Oilers
1982-83 New York Islanders
1981-82 New York Islanders
1979-80 New York Islanders
1977-78 Montreal Canadiens
1976-77 Montreal Canadiens
1975-76 Montreal Canadiens
1969-70 Boston Bruins

Video: 1975-76 Canadiens set franchise record for points

View More

The NHL has updated its Privacy Policy effective January 16, 2020. We encourage you to review it carefully.

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.