Skip to Main Content
Press Release

McDavid, Crosby, Holtby earn regular-season trophies

Art Ross, Rocket Richard, Jennings Trophy winners announced

by NHL Public Relations @PR_NHL

NEW YORK -- The 2016-17 National Hockey League regular season concluded on Sunday with Edmonton Oilers center Connor McDavid capturing his first career Art Ross Trophy as the League's scoring champion, Pittsburgh Penguins center Sidney Crosby claiming his second career Maurice "Rocket" Richard Trophy as the NHL's goal-scoring leader and Braden Holtby of the Washington Capitals winning his first career William M. Jennings Trophy as the goaltender who plays at least 25 games for the club allowing the fewest goals. 

McDavid finished the season with a League-leading 100 points (and 70 assists) in 82 games, besting Crosby (44-45-89 in 75 GP) and Chicago Blackhawks right wing Patrick Kane (34-55-89 in 82 GP) for his first career Art Ross Trophy. McDavid registered at least one point in 59 of his 82 appearances (72.0%), highlighted by a career-high, 14-game point streak to close the season (7-18-25) - the longest by any NHL player in 2016-17 and longest by any Oilers player since 1987-88. He also posted a League-best 30 multi-point performances, including his first career hat trick Nov. 19 at DAL. At 20 years, 86 days, McDavid became the third-youngest player to win the Art Ross Trophy, behind only Crosby (19 years, 244 days in 2006-07) and Wayne Gretzky (20 years, 69 days in 1980-81). He also became the second Oilers player to claim the award and first since Gretzky won seven straight from 1980-81 through 1986-87.

Crosby scored a League-high 44 goals in 75 games to capture his second career Maurice "Rocket" Richard Trophy, adding to the one he shared with Tampa Bay Lightning center Steven Stamkos in 2009-10. Crosby - who finished ahead of Lightning right wing Nikita Kucherov (40 G in 74 GP) and Toronto Maple Leafs center Auston Matthews (40 G in 82 GP) for the award - recorded eight multi-goal performances, highlighted by his 10th career hat trick March 19 vs. FLA. He became the fifth multiple winner of the Maurice "Rocket" Richard Trophy since it was first handed out in 1998-99, joining Alex Ovechkin (6), Pavel Bure (2), Jarome Iginla (2) and Stamkos (2).

Holtby saw the most action on a Capitals team that allowed a League-low 182 goals, 13 fewer than the Columbus Blue Jackets. The reigning Vezina Trophy winner claimed his first career William M. Jennings Trophy as well as the second in franchise history, following the tandem of Al Jensen and Pat Riggin in 1983-84. Holtby - who yielded two or fewer goals in 42 of his 63 appearances (66.7%) - finished the campaign tied for the League lead in wins (42), while also ranking in the top five in shutouts (1st; 9), goals-against average (2nd; 2.07) and save percentage (4th; .925). He became the third goaltender in NHL history to post three consecutive 40-win seasons, joining Martin Brodeur (2005 08) and Evgeni Nabokov (2007-10).

View More

The NHL has updated its Privacy Policy effective January 16, 2020. We encourage you to review it carefully.

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.